Künstler_innenstipendium Istanbul-Berlin 2018 Artist-in-Residence Scholarship Istanbul-Berlin

1 July–31 December 2018

Scholarship

Location(s):
ZK/U Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik, KUNSTrePUBLIK e.V., Siemensstr. 27, 10551 Berlin

Artists

Evrim Kavcar

As of 2018, two scholarships will be granted annually to artists who live in Istanbul. The existing Istanbul stipend of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe was expanded to a true exchange, with a jury annually selecting two artists from Istanbul to be sent to Berlin and vice versa. The aim is to further enhance the relations between the partner cities of Berlin and Istanbul as well as the connections to the Turkish art scene. This is done with the conviction that international exchange and direct communication allow cultural diversity be experienced as an enrichment, inviting people to a change in perspective.

July - December 2018
Evrim Kavcar

The focus of Evrim Kavcar’s artistic engagement is on the remembrance of things that have been lost. She is interested in the connections between individual and personal memories, on the one side, and social and collective memories on the other. The artist works with performance, sculpture and drawing in a situation-specific and material-sensitive manner.
http://www.evrimkavcar.com/

The scholarship of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe is made possible in the frame of a cooperation between the neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) and the ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik in Berlin as well as DEPO in Istanbul.

Financed by

Künstler_innenstipendium Istanbul-Berlin 2018

1. Juli–31. Dezember 2018

Stipendium

Ort(e):
ZK/U Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik, KUNSTrePUBLIK e.V., Siemensstr. 27, 10551 Berlin

Künstler_innen

Evrim Kavcar

Seit 2018 werden jährlich zwei Stipendien an in Istanbul lebende Künstler_innen vergeben. Das bestehende Istanbul-Stipendium der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa wurde zu einem echten Austausch erweitert, indem jährlich zwei Künstler_innen aus Istanbul von einer Jury ausgewählt und nach Berlin entsandt werden und umgekehrt. Damit sollen die Beziehungen zwischen den Partnerstädten Berlin und Istanbul und die Verbindung zur türkischen Kunstszene weiter gestärkt werden. Dies folgt der Überzeugung, dass internationaler Austausch und unmittelbare Kommunikation kulturelle Vielfalt als Bereicherung erlebbar werden lassen und zum Perspektivenwechsel einladen.

Juli - Dezember 2018
Evrim Kavcar

Der Schwerpunkt der künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung liegt bei Evrim Kavcar auf dem Erinnern an Dinge, die verloren gegangen sind. Sie interessiert sich für den Zusammenhang zwischen individuellen, persönlichen und sozialen, kollektiven Erinnerungen. Die Künstlerin arbeitet in Performance, Skulptur und Zeichnung situationsspezifisch und auf materialempfindliche Weise.
http://www.evrimkavcar.com/

Das Stipendium der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa wird im Rahmen einer Kooperation zwischen dem Kunstverein neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) und dem ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik in Berlin sowie dem DEPO in Istanbul ermöglicht.

Finanziert von