nGbK-Lectures 2022 nGbK-Lectures 2022

1 January–31 December 2022

Event Series

Location(s):
nGbK (Event space, 1st floor), Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Various venues in Berlin

Participants

Ingo Arend, *foundationClass*collective, Noa K. Ha, Giovanni Picker, Slavs and Tatars

Members initiative

The format “nGbK lectures” was initiated in 2016. In panels and discussions the nGbK will intervene in the public debate, formulate statements, offer solidarity or voice outrage. At irregular intervals, members of the nGbK organise evening events dedicated to cultural-political issues.

Events:

Thursday, 29 September 2022, 19:00 (en)
nGbK event space
Panel discussion “Art & Collectives: What’s Next after Kassel? – Strategies in the Art Field” with Slavs and Tatars, foundationClasscollective and Ingo Arend, moderated by Ingrid Wagner

Since documenta fifteen and the grassroots democratic approach of the work of the collective ruangrupa, there has been a heated discussion about collective art production. The nGbK also sees itself in this non-hierarchical self-understanding. Therefore the association wants to deepen the discussion about working in a collective and exchange ideas about the meaning of this approach in the art business. What are the goals, what are the different models and what are the problems and challenges of collective work? Invited are the artist collective foundationClasscollective, which exhibited at nGbK in 2020 and participated in documenta fifteen. Slavs and Tatars is an internationally active collective that takes a very broad and interdisciplinary approach to artistic work. Ingo Arend participates as a cultural journalist and as a member of the chair of the nGbK. The member of the chair Ingrid Wagner will moderate the discussion.

Saturday, November 12, 2022, 20:00 (en)
Apartment Project Kulturverein e.V., Hertzbergstraße 13, 12055 Berlin + Livestream
Talk “Where We Stand: European Cities, Colonialism and the Other Histories and Futures of Berlin’s Mitte” between Noa K. Ha and Giovanni Picker, moderated by Niloufar Tajeri

In their recently published book European cities: Modernity, race and colonialism, the editors, urbanists Noa K. Ha and Giovanni Picker, along with thirteen contributors, critically rethink European urban modernity, reviewing Eurocentric and historicist perspectives on 21st-century European cities. These perspectives seem to be evident not least in Berlin-Mitte, as well as in current debates surrounding the Humboldt-Forum and the development of the Molkenmarkt quarter.

The nGbK, which is due to move to its new premises close to these two locations in 2023, is affected by these debates. In their nGbK Lecture, in conversation with Niloufar Tajeri, Ha and Picker will highlight the degree to which the development of the district is not only shaped by capital and political interests, but also entangled in struggles over cultural hegemony. The positive references to an idealized past that are increasingly seen in city-planning discourse will be discussed against the backdrop of Berlin’s history: from the city’s colonial legacies to the expropriation of Jewish landlords during the Third Reich, and the East-West divide. In the introduction to their edited volume, with the help of postcolonial, decolonial, and critical race theories, Ha and Picker unmask the model of the European city as a Eurocentric one and argue for a shift of perspective.

Noa K. Ha is the scientific managing director of the German Center for Integration and Migration Research (DeZIM). She has taught and researched at Berlin’s Technical University and was visiting lecturer at weißensee academy of art berlin. Her research investigates processes of urban production from decolonial, critical race theory, feminist and queer theory perspectives.

Giovanni Picker is Lecturer/Assistant Professor of Sociology at the University of Glasgow (UK). After obtaining his PhD in Urban Studies, he held a number of research positions in Italy, Romania, Russia, Hungary, Germany and the UK. His current research and teaching centre on the articulations of Urban Studies and Critical Race Studies, and empirically focus on Europe.

Niloufar Tajeri is an architect and architectural theorist currently working on a PhD at the DFG Research Training Group on “Identity and Heritage” at Berlin’s Technical University. Her work focuses on structural racism and coloniality in architecture and planning, and on urban uprisings and politics of memory in the neoliberal city.

Financed by

nGbK-Lectures 2022

1. Januar–31. Dezember 2022

Veranstaltungsreihe

Ort(e):
nGbK (Veranstaltungsraum, 1.OG), Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Verschiedene Orte in Berlin

Teilnehmer_innen

Ingo Arend, *foundationClass*collective, Noa K. Ha, Giovanni Picker, Slavs and Tatars

Vereinsinitiative

Das Format “nGbK-Lectures” startete 2016. In Podien und Debatten mischt sich die nGbK in das öffentliche Gespräch ein, erarbeitet Stellungnahmen, solidarisiert oder empört sich. In zeitlich unregelmäßigen Abständen organisieren Vereinsmitglieder Abendverstaltungen zu kulturpolitischen Themen.

Termine:

Donnerstag, 29. September 2022, 19 Uhr (en)
nGbK-Veranstaltungsraum
Diskussionsrunde “Kunst & Kollektive: Wie weiter nach Kassel? – Strategien im Kunstfeld” mit Slavs and Tatars, foundationClasscollective und Ingo Arend, moderiert von Ingrid Wagner

Seit der documenta fifteen und dem basisdemokratischen Ansatz der Arbeit des Kollektivs ruangrupa gibt es eine heftige Diskussion über die kollektive Kunstproduktion. In diesem nicht-hierarchischen Selbstverständnis versteht sich auch die nGbK. Deshalb will der Verein die Auseinandersetzung über das Kollektive vertiefen und sich über die Bedeutung dieses Ansatzes im Kunstbetriebs austauschen. Was sind die Ziele, was sind die unterschiedlichen Modelle und welche Probleme und Herausforderungen hat die kollektive Arbeit? Eingeladen sind das Künstlerkollektiv foundationClasscollective, das 2020 in der nGbK ausstellte und an der documenta fifteen teilnahm. Slavs and Tatars ist ein international agierendes Kollektiv, das die künstlerische Arbeit sehr weit und interdisziplinär fasst. Ingo Arend nimmt als Kulturjournalist und als Präsidiumsmitglied der nGbK teil. Das Mitglied des Präsidiums Ingrid Wagner wird die Diskussion moderieren.

Samstag, 12. November 2022, 20 Uhr (en)
Apartment Project Kulturverein e.V., Hertzbergstraße 13, 12055 Berlin + Livestream
Gespräch “Where We Stand: European Cities, Colonialism and the Other Histories and Futures of Berlin’s Mitte” zwischen Noa K. Ha und Giovanni Picker, moderiert von Niloufar Tajeri

In ihrem kürzlich erschienenen Buch European cities: Modernity, race and colonialism unterziehen die beiden Stadtforscher_innen Noa K. Ha und Giovanni Picker gemeinsam mit dreizehn weiteren Beitragenden das Projekt einer europäischen urbanen Moderne einer kritischen Neubewertung. Dabei identifizieren sie eurozentrische und historizistische Perspektiven auf die europäische Stadt des 21. Jahrhunderts, die nicht zuletzt in Berlin-Mitte zu beobachten sind, etwa in aktuellen Debatten um das Humboldt-Forum oder die Entwicklung des Molkenmarkt-Quartiers.

Auch die nGbK, die 2023 ihre neuen Räume unweit dieser beiden Orte beziehen wird, bleibt von solchen Debatten nicht unberührt. In ihrer nGbK-Lecture machen Ha und Picker im Gespräch mit Niloufar Tajeri deutlich, wie sehr die Entwicklung der Mitte Berlins nicht nur von wirtschaftlichen und politischen Interessen geprägt ist, sondern auch von Kämpfen um kulturelle Hegemonie. Den in stadtplanerischen Diskursen immer häufiger zu beobachtenden positiven Rückbezug auf eine idealisierte Vergangenheit diskutieren sie vor dem Hintergrund der Geschichte Berlins: Von kolonialem Erbe über die Enteignung von Jüdinnen und Juden bis hin zur Teilung der Stadt. In der Einleitung ihres Sammelbands entlarven Ha und Picker mithilfe postkolonialer, dekolonialer und Critical-Race-Theorien das Modell der europäischen Stadt als ein eurozentristisches und plädieren für einen Perspektivwechsel.

Noa K. Ha ist wissenschaftliche Geschäftsführerin des Deutschen Zentrums für Integrations- und Migrationsforschung (DeZIM). Zuvor lehrte und forschte sie unter anderem an der TU Berlin und war Gastdozentin an der Weißensee Kunsthochschule. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind postkoloniale Stadtforschung, migrantisch-diasporische Erinnerungspolitik, kritische Integrationsforschung und Rassismuskritik.

Giovanni Picker lehrt Soziologie an der University of Glasgow. Nach seiner Promotion in Stadtforschung 2009 forschte er an verschiedenen Institutionen in Italien, Rumänien, Russland, Ungarn, Deutschland und Großbritannien. Derzeit arbeitet er an der Schnittstelle von Stadtforschung und Critical Race Studies mit Schwerpunkt Europa.

Niloufar Tajeri ist Architektin und Architekturtheoretikerin. Sie promoviert am DFG-Graduiertenkolleg „Identität und Erbe“ an der TU Berlin. In ihrer Arbeit beschäftigt sie sich mit strukturellem Rassismus und Kolonialität in Architektur und Planung sowie urbanen Aufständen und Erinnerungspolitik in der neoliberalen Stadt.

Finanziert von