ANIMAL LOVERS

15 October–27 November 2016
Opening: 14 October 2016

Exhibition
Publication
Event Series
Symposium “Networking ANIMAL LOVERS”

Location(s): nGbK, Oranienstraße 25

Artists

CMUK, Katja Davar, Hana Lee Erdman, Ant Farm, Anselmo Fox, Thomas Hawranke, Hörner und Antlfinger, Krõõt Juurak und Alex Bailey, Hartmut Kiewert, Ines Lechleitner, Jochen Lempert, NEOZOON, Lin May Saeed, Sin Kabeza Productions

Participants

Philipp von Gall, Julia Gutjahr, Hilda Kean, Helen Keller, Lissette Olivares, Massimo Perinelli, Marcel Sebastian, Kim Stallwood, Sven Wirth

Project group

Mathias Antlfinger, Anne Hölck, Ute Hörner, Mareike Maage, Friederike Schmitz

Cats are entitled to the pension, chickens have social security and cows have union representation. If all domesticated animals had civil rights they would be able to participate in policymaking and could no longer be eaten. Fellow citizens cannot be eaten. Whereas some animals in our society are cared for and pampered, others suffer in large-scale industrial livestock facilities and animal testing laboratories. For centuries, the animal rights movement has fought for less violence and more equality in the treatment of animals. The struggle is profoundly political and has marked similarities to other historic efforts for emancipation. To this day, it is humans who stand in the way of an equal relationship, who despite their better judgement cannot relinquish their exploitative interests and claims to power.

The exhibition ANIMAL LOVERS proposes that we not see animals as “the other” or as a projection surface for our own desires, preferences or fears, but rather that we see them as individuals with abilities and rights. The exhibited artworks give impetus for a new understanding of the relationship between humans and animals and encourage that we regard animals as our equals. Human-animal relationships are constructed by society and therefore modifiable. The selected works deal critically with existing inequalities; they expose contradictions and clichés in the daily and medialised treatment of animals. The invited artists encounter the animals as individuals and explore the possibility of artistic collaborations. The exhibition shows architecture that allows both humans and animals to find their bearings in the habitat of the other and scenarios in which this is miraculously already the case.

The exhibition will be accompanied by a selection of radiodramas, which can be heard in the exhibition space and on air on rbb’s kulturradio station. www.kulturradio.de.

Part of the project is a two-part publication: an exhibition guide and an essay booklet with contributions on the topic of human-animal relationships by Fahim Amir, Dietmar Dath, Sue Donaldson/Will Kymlicka, Hilda Kean, Mareike Maage, Massimo Perinelli, Hilal Sezgin, Kim Stallwood. nGbK Publishers. ISBN-13 978-3-938515-65-5

Events:

Friday, 14 Oktober 2016, 19h
Opening of the exhibition and Performance »Animal Companion« by Hana Lee Erdman

Friday, 4 November / Saturday, 5 November
Symposium »Networking ANIMAL LOVERS«
No registration required

Friday, 4 November 2016, 20h (de/en)
Performance »Four to Two Feet Chapter 2« by Ines Lechleitner with Alice Chauchat
Followed by a round table with Maximilian Haas (cultural scientist, dramatic adviser) & Marion Mangelsdorf (cultural scientist, sociologist) in the exhibition space of the nGbK.

Saturday, 5 November 2016, 11h (de)
Exhibition tour with the project group and artists in the exhibition space of the nGbK.

Saturday, 5 November 2016, 14–20h
Lectures and talks (de/en) in the nGbK (first floor)

14 h
Aspekte der Mensch-Tier-Beziehung(de)
Marcel Sebastian: Ambivalente Verhältnisse: Das Mensch-Tier-Verhältnis aus soziologischer Perspektive
 

Julia Gutjahr: „Giraffendrama“ und „Kaninchenmörder”: Die mediale Konstruktion ambivalenter moralischer Ordnung im Rahmen der Skandalisierung von Gewalt an Tieren


Massimo Perinelli: Die Lust auf das Tier. Zoophilie und der normative Reflex

15.45 h
Wahrnehmungsmuster herausfordern(de)
Helen Keller: „Real men don’t eat vegetables“: Maskuline Männer und absente Tiere in der Werbung


Sven Wirth: Das Handeln der Tiere. Tierliche Agency als Herausforderung hegemonialer Denkweisen


Philipp von Gall: Illusionen des Tierwohls

18 h
Animal encounters in different fields(en)
Hilda Kean: Animal pasts and representation in London today

Kim Stallwood: Animal Lovers and Animal Rights


Lissette Olivares (Sin Kabeza Productions): Speculative Architecture & Design for a Post anthropos/pocene 
 

Krõõt Juurak: Performances for pets

Monday, 7 November – Wednesday, 9 November 2016
Performances for Pets
Performances for art-loving cats and dogs! Artists Krõõt Juurak and Alex Bailey present performances for pets in their familiar environment and take invitations from humans who live with animals to give private shows at home – human audiences from the animals’ milieu are also welcome! On 7th, 8th and 9th of November the artists present their work in Berlin. A performance lasts approx. 20–30 minutes. Feel free to make an appointment: kulturtier@gmail.com

Sunday, 27 November 2016, 15h
Guided tour in the exhibition(de)

ANIMAL LOVERS

15. Oktober–27. November 2016
Eröffnung: 14. Oktober 2016

Ausstellung
Publikation
Veranstaltungsreihe
Symposium “Networking ANIMAL LOVERS”

Ort(e): nGbK, Oranienstraße 25

Künstler_innen

CMUK, Katja Davar, Hana Lee Erdman, Ant Farm, Anselmo Fox, Thomas Hawranke, Hörner und Antlfinger, Krõõt Juurak und Alex Bailey, Hartmut Kiewert, Ines Lechleitner, Jochen Lempert, NEOZOON, Lin May Saeed, Sin Kabeza Productions

Teilnehmer_innen

Philipp von Gall, Julia Gutjahr, Hilda Kean, Helen Keller, Lissette Olivares, Massimo Perinelli, Marcel Sebastian, Kim Stallwood, Sven Wirth

Arbeitsgruppe

Mathias Antlfinger, Anne Hölck, Ute Hörner, Mareike Maage, Friederike Schmitz

Die Katze hat Rentenanspruch, das Huhn eine Sozialversicherung, Rinder werden gewerkschaftlich vertreten. Hätten alle domestizierten Tiere das Bürgerrecht, dann dürften sie politisch mitbestimmen und nicht mehr gegessen werden. Mitbürger_innen darf man nicht essen. Während in unserer Gesellschaft manche Tiere gepflegt und gehätschelt werden, leiden andere in Massentierhaltungsanlagen oder Tierversuchslaboren. Seit Jahrzehnten ringt die Tierrechtsbewegung um weniger Gewalt und für mehr Gleichberechtigung im Umgang mit Tieren. Der Kampf ist zutiefst politisch und weist deutliche Parallelen zu anderen historischen Emanzipationsbestrebungen auf. Einer gleichberechtigen Beziehung stehen bis heute Menschen entgegen, die trotz besseren Wissen nicht von ihren ausbeuterischen Interessen und Machtansprüchen absehen.

Die Ausstellung ANIMAL LOVERS schlägt vor, in Tieren nicht „das Andere“ oder die Projektionsfläche für eigene Wünsche, Vorlieben oder Ängste zu sehen, sondern Individuen mit Fähigkeiten und Rechten. Die künstlerischen Arbeiten geben Impulse für ein neues Verständnis der Beziehungen zwischen Menschen und Tieren und regen eine Anerkennung von Tieren als gleichberechtigte Gegenüber an. Mensch-Tier-Verhältnisse sind gesellschaftlich gemacht und damit veränderbar. Die ausgewählten Arbeiten verhandeln kritisch bestehende Ungleichverhältnisse, sie legen Widersprüche und Klischees im alltäglichen und medialen Umgang mit Tieren offen. Die eingeladenen Künstler_innen begegnen den Tieren individuell und thematisieren die Möglichkeit künstlerischer Kollaboration. Die Ausstellung zeigt Architekturen, die es Menschen und Tieren erlauben, sich im Habitat des jeweils anderen zurechtzufinden, und Szenarien, in denen das wie durch ein Wunder bereits geschieht.

Die Ausstellung wird ergänzt durch ausgewählte Features und Hörspiele – zu hören im Ausstellungsraum und in einem Programm zum Schwerpunkt »ANIMAL LOVERS« im kulturradio vom rbb.

Es erscheint eine zweiteilige Publikation: Ein Ausstellungsguide sowie ein Essayheft mit Beiträgen zur Debatte um Mensch-Tier-Verhältnisse von Fahim Amir, Dietmar Dath, Sue Donaldson/Will Kymlicka, Hilda Kean, Mareike Maage, Massimo Perinelli, Hilal Sezgin, Friederike Schmitz, Kim Stallwood im Verlag der nGbK. ISBN: 978-3-938515-65-5

Veranstaltungen:

Freitag, 14. Oktober 2016, 19 Uhr
Eröffnung und Performance »Animal Companion« von Hana Lee Erdman

Freitag, 4. November / Samstag, 5. November
Symposium »Networking Animal Lovers«
Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich

Freitag, 4. November 2016, 20 Uhr
Performance & Round Table(de/en)
Performance »Four to Two Feet Chapter 2« von Ines Lechleitner mit Alice Chauchat
Anschließend Round Table mit Maximilian Haas (Kulturwissenschaftler, Dramaturg) & Marion Mangelsdorf (Kulturwissenschaftlerin, Soziologin) in den Ausstellungsräumen der nGbK.

Samstag, 5. November 2016, 11 Uhr
Rundgang durch die Ausstellung mit Jessica Ullrich, Projektgruppe und Künstler_innen(de)

Samstag, 5. November 2016, 14-20 Uhr,
Vorträge und Gespräche
Die Veranstaltung finden in den Räumen der nGbK statt (1. OG)

14 Uhr
Aspekte der Mensch-Tier-Beziehung(de)
Marcel Sebastian: Ambivalente Verhältnisse: Das Mensch-Tier-Verhältnis aus soziologischer Perspektive
 

Julia Gutjahr: „Giraffendrama“ und „Kaninchenmörder”: Die mediale Konstruktion ambivalenter moralischer Ordnung im Rahmen der Skandalisierung von Gewalt an Tieren


Massimo Perinelli: Die Lust auf das Tier. Zoophilie und der normative Reflex

15.45 Uhr
Wahrnehmungsmuster herausfordern(de)
Helen Keller: „Real men don’t eat vegetables“: Maskuline Männer und absente Tiere in der Werbung


Sven Wirth: Das Handeln der Tiere. Tierliche Agency als Herausforderung hegemonialer Denkweisen


Philipp von Gall: Illusionen des Tierwohls

18 Uhr
Animal encounters in different fields (en)
Hilda Kean: Animal pasts and representation in London today

Kim Stallwood: Animal Lovers and Animal Rights


Lissette Olivares (Sin Kabeza Productions): Speculative Architecture & Design for a Post anthropos/pocene 
 

Krõõt Juurak: Performances for pets

Montag, 7. November 2016, - Mittwoch, 9. November 2016
“Performances for Pets” von Krõõt Juurak und Alex Bailey
Performances für kunstliebende Katzen und Hunde! Krõõt Juurak und Alex Bailey präsentieren Performances für Haustiere in ihrem gewohnten Umfeld. Die Künstler_innen kommen auf Einladung von Menschen, die mit Tieren zusammenleben, zu Ihnen nach Hause und geben eine private Vorführung. Menschliche Zuschauer_innen aus dem Umfeld der Tiere sind ebenfalls willkommen! Die Künstler_innen präsentieren ihre Arbeit am 7., 8. und 9. November in Berlin. Eine Performance dauert ca. 20–30 Minuten. Termine können per Mail unter: kulturtier@gmail.com vereinbart werden.

Sonntag, 27. November 2016, 15 Uhr
Führung durch die Ausstellung (de)