The Influencing Machine

1 December 2018–20 January 2019
Opening: 30 November 2018

Exhibition
Publication
Event Series

Location(s): neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin

Artists

Anna Bromley, Mimi Onuoha & Mother Cyborg, Kajsa Dahlberg, Egemen Demirci, Fokus Grupa, Eva & Franco Mattes, Fabien Giraud & Raphaël Siboni, Tactical Tech, Jane Topping, Sarah Tripp, Clement Valla, Sascha Pohflepp & Chris Woebken, Laura Yuile

Participants

Varoon Bashyakarla, Anna Bromley, Egemen Demirci, Ulrike Klinger, Sascha Pohflepp, Florian A. Schmidt

Project group

Vladimir Čajkovac, Kristina Kramer, Bettina Lehmann, Sophie Macpherson, Tahani Nadim, Neli Wagner

Bots (from ‘robot’ and Czech ‘robota’, socage, forced labor) are inconspicuous computer programs that perform tasks automatically.

Bots manipulate the masses, turn ‘fake news’ into facts, supersede human labour, colonise our objects and lead us into temptation: Based on digital code, bots perform thousands of minute routines which supplement and at times displace human agency and labour, thus shaping virtual and analog structures. They are often given human features––names, voices, bodies on occasion. Yet even when remaining invisible, they are increasingly becoming part of our everyday.

“The Influencing Machine” examines these diffusions and formations. Clustered around a series of famous bots, the exhibition assembles contemporary artistic positions examining the automation and datafication of our life worlds and work environments. Here, bots are understood as socio-technical phenomena; their efficacies requiring and provoking novel and manifold relations and imaginations:

How do bots and data form politics? In what ways do they transform political orderings of participation, accountability and knowledge? Why do racist or sexist logics reproduce and intensify on digital platforms, social networks, and data-driven expert systems? What does it mean for the value of labour and, more generally, human agency if transactions, communication, and decisions are increasingly carried out by fully automated devices? Which cultural imaginations shape the design and function of human-machine interfaces?

The exhibition provides insights into the socio-material ecologies of this new influencing machine and seeks to problematize the figure of the bot beyond the dominant narratives of society and technology.

The publication “The Influencing Machine” is addressing the exhibition’s various questions, extending its focus to historical continuities and social contexts, with contributions by Geoffrey C. Bowker and Susan Leigh Star, Simone Brown, Wendy Hui Kyong Chun, Kashmir Hill, Lilly Irani, Lee Mackinnon, Tahani Nadim, Lucy Suchman, Cher Tan, and Neli Wagner.

Saturday, 8 December 2018
16:00-17:00
Guided tour of the exhibition with the curators

Thursday, 13 December 2018
19:00
eventspace, 1st floor
Book Launch “The Influencing Machine”

Saturday, 29 December 2018
16:00-17:00
Guided tour of the exhibition with the curators

Saturday, 12 January 2019
16:00-17:00
Guided tour of the exhibition with the curators

Saturday, 19 January 2019
16:00-20:00
eventspace, 1st floor
Event, Round table: »On Bots, Labour and Politics«

Bots and the Political (EN)

The scandal about the worldwide influence on elections has brought the topic of ‘bots’ into the mainstream media. But do we only understand bots as political when they influence the outcome of elections? The voices of digital language assistants or the algorithmically schematized classification of data which is produced by the usage of digital services also have political implications: Values, rights and conditions of existence are under scrutiny. What types of accountability, actionability and recourse are necessary or even possible in a world increasingly organized by algorithms? Is it ultimately (or not?) a political task to regulate the use of new technologies through legislation?

Bots and Labour (DE)

Opposed to the efficiency and comfort that the use of bots promises for repetitive workflows there is a whole series of questions: Do machines take away our work? Does an algorithm make personnel decisions that are more reasonable? Does one communicate with a person or with a machine in a customer service? Is a (ro)bot an assistant or a competitor? The state of development of artificial intelligence is still far from making human work redundant. But who trains the self-learning systems and under what premises? What about working conditions in the huge sector of so-called “human bots” (both economically and in terms of employed people)?

With:

Varoon Bashyakarla is a statistician/data scientist and researcher at Tactical Tech Collective. He investigates how personal information is used for political influence in the 21st century. He is particularly interested in questions of ethics that are embedded in data, in algorithmic discrimination, and in ensuring our digital technologies respect and preserve the dignity of democratic process.

Jun. Prof. Dr. Ulrike Klinger is a junior professor for Digital Communication with a special focus on Gender Aspects at the Institute for Journalism and Communication Studies at the Free University of Berlin and the head of the research group “News, campaigns, and the rationality of public discourse ” at the Weizenbaum Institute for Networked Society.

Anna Bromley, artist, develops exhibitions, installations, performances, texts, radio conversations, and radio plays. Her primary interest is in breaches and interruptions in representative ways of speaking and talking.

Egemen Demirci is an artist whose practice embodies a critical approach to the notion of reality in algorithm-based environments. He works with a range of media to investigate the conceptual boundaries of abstraction, space, and exhibition making practices.

Sascha Pohflepp lives and works in Berlin and Southern California. He is an artist and researcher whose interests extend across both historical aspects and visions of the future. His practice often involves collaboration with artists and researchers, creating work on subjects ranging from synthetic biology and artificial intelligence to geopolitics and space exploration.

Dr. phil. Dipl.-Des. Florian A. Schmidt is a Professor of Design Concept and Media Theory at the HTW Dresden. He is co-author of “Crowdwork––Back to the Future?” (2014) and author of “Der Job als Gig––Studie zur Gig Economy in Berlin” (2017) together with ArbeitGestalten. He is currently researching the role of human labor in the production of training data for autonomous driving.

Supported by

The Influencing Machine

1. Dezember 2018–20. Januar 2019
Eröffnung: 30. November 2018

Ausstellung
Publikation
Veranstaltungsreihe

Ort(e): neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin

Künstler_innen

Anna Bromley, Mimi Onuoha & Mother Cyborg, Kajsa Dahlberg, Egemen Demirci, Fokus Grupa, Eva & Franco Mattes, Fabien Giraud & Raphaël Siboni, Tactical Tech, Jane Topping, Sarah Tripp, Clement Valla, Sascha Pohflepp & Chris Woebken, Laura Yuile

Teilnehmer_innen

Varoon Bashyakarla, Anna Bromley, Egemen Demirci, Ulrike Klinger, Florian A. Schmidt

Arbeitsgruppe

Vladimir Čajkovac, Kristina Kramer, Bettina Lehmann, Sophie Macpherson, Tahani Nadim, Neli Wagner

Bots (von englisch robot, Roboter, und tschechisch robota, Zwangsdienst) sind unscheinbare Computerprogramme, die automatisch Aufgaben erledigen.

Bots manipulieren die Massen, verwandeln fake news in Fakten, ersetzen menschliche Arbeitskräfte, kolonisieren die Objektwelt und führen uns in Versuchung: Auf Basis digitaler Codes erledigen sie tausendfach minutiöse Routinen, die menschliche Handlungs- und Arbeitsschritte ergänzen bzw. ersetzen und damit virtuelle wie analoge Strukturen prägen. Oft erhalten Bots menschliche Attribute – Namen, Stimmen, gar Körper. Aber auch wenn sie unsichtbar bleiben, werden sie zunehmend Teil unseres Alltags.

The Influencing Machine geht diesen Durchdringungen und Prägungen nach. Entlang namhafter Bots versammelt die Ausstellung zeitgenössische künstlerische Positionen, die sich auf unterschiedliche Weise mit der Automatisierung und Verdatung unserer Lebens- und Arbeitswelten befassen. Bots sollen hier als sozio-technische Phänomene begriffen werden. Ihre Wirkmacht bedingt neuartige und vielfältige Zusammenhänge und Imaginationen:
Wie wird mit Bots und Daten Politik gemacht und wie verändern sich dadurch politische Ordnungen der Teilhabe, der Rechenschaft und des Wissens? Warum reproduzieren und verstärken sich rassistische oder sexistische Logiken auf digitalen Plattformen, in sozialen Netzwerken und datengetriebenen Expertensystemen? Was bedeutet es für die Bewertung von Arbeit und menschlichem Handeln allgemein, wenn Transaktionen, Kommunikation und Entscheidungen vermehrt von vollautomatisierten Apparaten ausgeführt werden? Welche kulturellen Imaginationen prägen die Gestaltung und Funktionsweisen von Mensch-Maschine Schnittstellen?

Die Ausstellung gibt Einblicke in die sozio-materiellen Ökologien dieser neuen Beeinflussungsmaschine und versucht abseits von dominanten Erzählungen über Technologie und Gesellschaft, die Figur des Bots zu problematisieren.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Begleitbuch, das die Fragenkomplexe der Ausstellung aufnimmt und um einen Fokus auf historische Kontinuitäten und gesellschaftliche Kontexte hin erweitert. Mit Beiträgen von Geoffrey C. Bowker & Susan Leigh Star, Simone Browne, Wendy Hui Kyong Chun, Kashmir Hill, Lilly Irani, Lee Mackinnon, Tahani Nadim, Lucy Suchman, Cher Tan, Neli Wagner.

Termine:

Samstag, 8.Dezember 2018
16-17 Uhr
Führung mit den Kurator_innen durch die Ausstellung

Donnerstag, 13. Dezember 2018
19 Uhr
Veranstaltungsraum, 1. OG
Buchvorstellung “The Influencing Machine”

Samstag, 29.Dezember 2018
16-17 Uhr
Führung mit den Kurator_innen durch die Ausstellung

Samstag, 12.Januar 2019
16-17 Uhr
Führung mit den Kurator_innen durch die Ausstellung

Samstag, 19. Januar 2019
16-20 Uhr
Veranstaltungsraum, 1. OG
Veranstaltung, Gespräch: »Von Bots, Arbeit und Politik«

Bots und das Politische (EN)

Der Skandal um die weltweite Beeinflussung von Wahlen hat das Thema “Bots” in die Mainstream-Medien gebracht. Doch verstehen wir Bots erst dann als politisch, wenn sie Einfluss auf Wahlentscheidungen nehmen? Auch die Stimmen digitaler Sprachassistenten oder die algorithmisch schematisierte Klassifizierung von Daten, die wir mit der Nutzung digitaler Dienste produzieren, haben politische Implikationen: Werte, Rechte und Existenzbedingungen stehen auf dem Prüfstand. Welche Arten von Rechenschaftspflicht, Handlungsfähigkeit und Rekurs sind notwendig oder gar möglich in einer zunehmend von Algorithmen organisierten Lebenswelt? Ist es zuletzt (oder auch nicht?) eine Aufgabe der Politik, durch die Gesetzgebung den Umgang mit und den Einsatz von neuen Technologien zu regulieren?

Bots und Arbeit (DE)

In der Arbeitswelt stehen der Effizienz, die der Einsatz von Bots zur Erledigung repetitiver Arbeitsabläufe verspricht, eine ganze Reihe von Fragen gegenüber: Nehmen Maschinen uns die Arbeit weg? Trifft ein Algorithmus fairere Personalentscheidungen? Kommuniziere ich im Kundenservice mit einem Menschen oder mit einer Maschine? Ist ein (Ro)Bot(er) Assistenz oder Konkurrenz? Noch ist der Entwicklungsstand künstlicher Intelligenz weit davon entfernt, menschliche Arbeit überflüssig zu machen. Doch wer trainiert die selbstlernenden Systeme und unter welchen Bedingungen? Wie steht es um die Arbeitsbedingungen im riesigen Sektor der so genannten „Human Bots“ (wirtschaftlich als auch hinsichtlich der beschäftigten Menschen)?

Mit:

Varoon Bashyakarla, Statistiker und Forscher bei Tactical Tech Collective. Er untersucht, wie persönliche Informationen im 21. Jahrhundert für politische Einflussnahme genutzt werden und befasst sich u.a. mit ethischen Fragen, algorithmischer Diskriminierung und der Gewährleistung demokratischer Prozesse.

Anna Bromley, Künstlerin, entwickelt Ausstellungen, Installationen, Performances, Texte, Radiogespräche und -stücke. Ihr Interesse gilt Brüchen und Aussetzern in repräsentativen Rede- und Sprechweisen.

Egemen Demirci, Künstler, verfolgt einen kritischen Ansatz gegenüber dem Wirklichkeitsverständnis in algorithmischen Umgebungen. Er arbeitet medienübergreifend, um die konzeptuellen Grenzen von Abstraktion, Raum und Ausstellungspraxis zu erforschen.

Jun. Prof. Dr. Ulrike Klinger, Juniorprofessorin für Digitale Kommunikation unter Berücksichtigung von Genderaspekten am Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin, Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe „Nachrichten, Kampagnen und die Rationalität öffentlicher Diskurse“ am Weizenbaum-Institut für die vernetzte Gesellschaft.

Sascha Pohflepp, Künstler und Forscher mit Fokus sowohl auf historische Aspekte als auch auf Zukunftsvisionen. Er arbeitet kollaborativ zu Themen wie synthetischer Biologie und künstlicher Intelligenz, Geopolitik und Weltraumforschung.

Dr. phil. Dipl.-Des. Florian A. Schmidt, Professor für Designkonzeption und Medientheorie an der HTW Dresden. Er ist unter anderem Ko-Autor von „Crowdwork - Zurück in die Zukunft?“ (2014) und zusammen mit ArbeitGestalten Autor von „Der Job als Gig - Studie zur Gig Economy in Berlin“ (2017). Aktuell forscht er zur Rolle menschlicher Arbeit bei der Produktion von Trainingsdaten für das autonome Fahren.

Unterstützt von