Klaus Mettig – DON‘T BE LEFT BEHIND

Photographic Work and Projection 1978 - 2008

31 May–13 July 2008
Opening: 30 May 2008

Exhibition
Publication

Location(s): NGBK, Oranienstraße 25
Haus am Kleistpark, Grunewaldstraße 6-7

Artists

Klaus Mettig

Project group RealismusStudio

Edda Kapsch, Christin Lahr, Frank Wagner, Susanne Weiß, Lena Ziese

Takeover by Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf

The NGBK’s RealismusStudio presents an insight into the work of artist Klaus Mettig, showing at two exhibition locations in Berlin. The exhibition at NGBK concentrates on a wide-ranging presentation of his last two series of works, large-format photographic works produced in New York and Asia between 2004 and 2007. The Haus am Kleistpark is showing the simultaneous projections he developed during the 1970s and 1980s. They are far-reaching complex images of China (1978), Berlin in the times of the Wall (1981-83) and Moscow (1985).

For 35 years Klaus Mettig has been concerned with portraits of society, with the politics of urban economics in major metropolitan cities. In his photo series he condenses the calamity produced by the collision between political systems and declared to be a life-world, and develops comparisons. In the age of globalization these confrontations are becoming ever more absurd.
The photographs have the appearance of unmodified documents of the everyday. But one soon comes to realize how precisely each individual motif, frame and final format has been chosen and how the individual images, each complex enough in itself, have been assembled to form a multipart composition. Particularly impressive is the meticulousness with which the photographic surface has been worked, honed to a point where the grain becomes roughened, allowing the completely artificial way of dealing with the photographic medium and with methods for recording reality to be clearly appreciated.

The joint exhibition is to be accompanied by a publication containing selected work series and documentary material, which will appear to coincide with the opening at museum kunst palast.

Klaus Mettig’s „Don’t be Left Behind“ is to be published by Steidl in July 2008, ISBN 978-3-86521-595-6

Supported by

In cooperation with

Klaus Mettig – DON‘T BE LEFT BEHIND

Fotoarbeiten und Projektionen 1978-2008

31. Mai–13. Juli 2008
Eröffnung: 30. Mai 2008

Ausstellung
Publikation

Ort(e):
NGBK, Oranienstraße 25
Haus am Kleistpark, Grunewaldstraße 6-7

Künstler_innen

Klaus Mettig

Arbeitsgruppe RealismusStudio

Edda Kapsch, Christin Lahr, Frank Wagner, Susanne Weiß, Lena Ziese

Übergabe an das Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf

Das RealismusStudio der NGBK präsentiert an zwei Ausstellungsorten in Berlin einen Einblick in das Schaffen des Künstlers Klaus Mettig. Die Ausstellung konzentriert sich in der NGBK auf die großzügige Präsentation seiner beiden letzten großen Werkgruppen, großformatige Fotoarbeiten aus den Jahren 2004 und 2007, die in New York und Asien entstanden sind. Im Haus am Kleistpark werden seine in den 1970er und 1980er Jahren entwickelten Simultanprojektionen gezeigt. Es handelt sich um umfangreiche Bildkomplexe zu China (1978), Berlin zu Mauerzeiten (1981-83) und Moskau (1985).

Klaus Mettig beschäftigt sich seit 35 Jahren mit Gesellschaftsporträts, der Politik von urbanen Ökonomien in den großen Metropolen. In seinen Fotosequenzen verdichtet er die durch die Kollision der politischen Systeme entstehende, zur Lebenswelt erklärte Misere und entwickelt Vergleichssituationen. Besonders im Zeitalter der Globalisierung werden diese Gegenüberstellungen immer aberwitziger.
Die Fotoarbeiten erscheinen wie unbehandelte Dokumente aus alltäglich Gesehenem. Jedoch wird schnell klar, wie genau das einzelne Bildmotiv, der Ausschnitt, das endgültige Format gewählt sind und, wie die für sich schon komplexen Einzelbilder zu einer mehrteiligen Komposition zusammengefügt werden. Beeindruckend ist die Akribie, mit der die fotografische Oberfläche bearbeitet, geschärft, teils bis in die Körnung aufgeraut wird, so dass der völlig artifizielle Umgang mit dem fotografischen Medium und mit den Methoden der Aufzeichnung von Realität deutlich zu erfassen ist.

Zur gemeinsamen Ausstellung entsteht eine Publikation mit den ausgewählten Werkgruppen und dokumentarischem Material, die zur Eröffnung im museum kunst palast vorliegen wird.

Bei Steidl erscheint im Juli 2008 die Publikation von Klaus Mettig „Don’t be Left Behind“, ISBN 978-3-86521-595-6.

Unterstützt von

In Kooperation mit