Left Performance Histories

3 February–25 March 2018
Opening: 2 February 2018

Exhibition
Publication
Event Series

Location(s): Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin

Artists

Gruppe 37,2, chic, charmant & dauerhaft / ccd, Vlasta Delimar, Orshi Drozdik, Tomislav Gotovac, Ion Grigorescu, Jürgen Hohmuth, Sanja Iveković, El Kazovszkij, Judit Kele, Tamás Király, László Lakner, Zbigniew Libera, Sven Marquardt, Marijan Molnar, Peter Oehlmann, Ewa Partum, Zygmunt Piotrowski, Christine Schlegel, Hans-Joachim Schulze, Irmgard Senf, Mladen Stilinović, Sven Stilinović, Gabriele Stötzer, Tamás Szentjóby, Bálint Szombathy, Raša Todosijević, Exterra XX, Želimir Žilnik

Project group

Judit Bodor, Adam Czirak, Astrid Hackel, Beata Hock, Andrej Mircev, Angelika Richter

Where do works of performance art begin and end? How do they or the traces they left behind live on in the context of exhibitions? What do performances in socialist Eastern Europe reveal about artistic expression, political critique or nonconformist social behaviour? The exhibition Left Performance Histories features action art in Eastern Europe from the 1970s on in a way that also reflects on its continued relevance in the present. The show includes works of over 25 artists, some well-known to those familiar with the alternative culture of the former Eastern Bloc, others possibly a new discovery even to the insider.

Rather than a comprehensive retrospective, the exhibition zooms in on a handful of selected topics that have been often left out of critical debates. Where the unofficial art of socialist Eastern Europe is conventionally framed as a reservoir of subversive gestures against an oppressive social, cultural and political environment, the present selection prefers instead to approach performance art as a site of jouissance where conventional self-presentation or socially approved forms of gendered identity, sexuality and standards of beauty may be bypassed. The exhibition also revisits the question of politicized artistic attitudes to suggest that the socialist state apparatus was not only challenged by anti-communist positions but also by critical voices insisting on democratic socialist principles or remonstrating the bitter ideological competition of the Cold War.

Through a diversity of curatorial approaches (including documentary display, discursive events and reperformance), the exhibition also interrogates how performance art can be presented in the context of later exhibitions. It considers the relics, documentation and memory of events as part of these works expanded materiality to propose a possible understanding of performance pieces as unfixed and continuously generated archives that need to be configured anew every time these works appear in public. With this approach, the exhibition explores how the histories of performance art are generated, controlled and understood over time. Left Performance Histories poses questions of what constitutes the artwork and who are the archivists.

Friday, 2 February 2018, 19h
Opening of the exhibition with words of Welcome by Dr. Torsten Wöhlert, Permanent Secretary for Culture and Prof. Dr. Kathrin Busch, Board of nGbK
Ongoing:
Performance “The red kiss of history” by Bálint Szombathy

Friday, 16 Februar 2018, 15-20h, Ongoing
Shop window, Bookshop Kisch&Co, Ground floor
Performance “Right to an orgasm at over 60” by Vlasta Delimar

Friday, 16 Februar 2018
nGbK event space, 1st floor

15h
Panel discussion (EN)”Performance as a site of nonconformist social behaviour (part 1): Fashion and genderbending” with Kata Benedek, Gyula Muskovics, Andi Soós and Gabriele Stötzer, Moderation: David Crowley

17.30h
Artist talk (DE) “Women, marriage is against you!” with Ewa Partum and Karolina Majewska-Güde

19h
Performance “KONTRAKTUS – célébration sologame” by Judit Kele

Saturday, 17 Februar 2018
nGbK event space, 1st floor

14h
Panel discussion (EN) “On performance and its archives” with Roddy Hunter, Heike Roms, Branka Stipancic and Andrej Mircev, Moderation: Judit Bodor

16h
Artist talk (DE) “With fun, art and fashion: breaking conventions in the GDR” by Jürgen Hohmuth

17h
Lecture Performance (EN) “Vocabulary of Revolutionary Gestures” by Elske Rosenfeld

18h
Panel discussion (EN) “Performance as a site of nonconformist social behaviour (part 2): Critique from the Left” with Anna Artwinska, Constanze Fritzsch, Bojana Matejic and Judit Bodor, Moderation: Beáta Hock

20h
Performance “Alice in Codeland” by Katalin Ladik

Supported by

Left Performance Histories

3. Februar–25. März 2018
Eröffnung: 2. Februar 2018

Ausstellung
Publikation
Veranstaltungsreihe

Künstler_innen

Gruppe 37,2, chic, charmant & dauerhaft / ccd, Vlasta Delimar, Orshi Drozdik, Tomislav Gotovac, Ion Grigorescu, Jürgen Hohmuth, Sanja Iveković, El Kazovszkij, Judit Kele, Tamás Király, László Lakner, Zbigniew Libera, Sven Marquardt, Marijan Molnar, Peter Oehlmann, Ewa Partum, Zygmunt Piotrowski, Christine Schlegel, Hans-Joachim Schulze, Irmgard Senf, Mladen Stilinović, Sven Stilinović, Gabriele Stötzer, Tamás Szentjóby, Bálint Szombathy, Raša Todosijević, Exterra XX, Želimir Žilnik

Arbeitsgruppe

Judit Bodor, Adam Czirak, Astrid Hackel, Beata Hock, Andrej Mircev, Angelika Richter

Wo fängt eine Performance an und wo hört sie auf? Wie verändert sich diese Kunstform im Kontext späterer Ausstellungen? Was erzählen Performances aus dem sozialistischen Osteuropa über künstlerische Ausdrucksweisen, politische Kritik oder gesellschaftlich unangepasstes Verhalten? Die Ausstellung Left Performance Histories zeigt osteuropäische Aktionskunst ab den 1970er Jahren und reflektiert ihre fortwährende Bedeutung in der Gegenwart. Einige der über 25 vorgestellten Künstler_innen dürften Kenner_innen der alternativen Kulturszenen des ehemaligen Ostblocks vertraut, andere selbst für sie eine Neuentdeckung sein.

Statt einer umfassenden Retrospektive nähert sich die Ausstellung einer Auswahl von Themen, die in kritischen Debatten häufig ausgeklammert werden. Die inoffizielle Kunst des staatssozialistischen Osteuropas wird oft als Sammelbecken subversiver Gesten gegen ein gesellschaftlich, kulturell und politisch repressives Umfeld verhandelt. Die Ausstellung betrachtet Performancekunst hingegen als Ort des Vergnügens, an dem gängige Selbstdarstellungen und gesellschaftliche Normen von Geschlechtsidentität, Sexualität und Schönheit umgangen werden. Sie fragt darüber hinaus nach politisierten künstlerischen Positionen, um zu zeigen, dass der sozialistische Staatsapparat nicht nur von antikommunistischer Seite aus angefochten wurde. Vielmehr meldeten sich auch kritische Stimmen zu Wort, die auf demokratisch-sozialistischen Prinzipien beharrten oder auf den erbitterten ideologischen Wettkampf des Kalten Krieges verwiesen.

Durch eine Vielfalt kuratorischer Herangehensweisen (einschließlich dokumentarischer Präsentationen, Gesprächsveranstaltungen und Neuaufführungen von Performances) untersucht das Projekt, wie Performancekunst im Kontext späterer Ausstellungen gezeigt werden kann. Relikte, Dokumentationen und Erinnerungen an Aufführungen werden als Teil der erweiterten Materialität künstlerischer Aktionen begriffen. Die Ausstellung schlägt vor, Performance als veränderliches und sich kontinuierlich neu konstituierendes Archiv zu verstehen, das bei jeder öffentlichen Präsentation aufs Neue gestaltet werden muss. Mit diesem Ansatz erkundet sie, wie die Geschichte/n der Performancekunst im Laufe der Zeit hervorgebracht, reguliert und interpretiert werden. Left Performance Histories fragt, was diese Kunst ausmacht und wer ihre Archivar_innen sind.

Freitag, 2. Februar 2018, 19 Uhr
Eröffnung der Ausstellung mit einer Begrüßung von Dr. Torsten Wöhlert, Staatssekretär für Kultur und Prof. Dr. Kathrin Busch, Präsidium der nGbK
Fortlaufend:
Performance “Der rote Kuss der Geschichte” von Bálint Szombathy

Freitag, 16. Februar 2018, 15-20 Uhr, Durchgehend
Schaufenster, Buchladen Kisch&Co, EG
Performance “Right to an orgasm at over 60” von Vlasta Delimar

Freitag, 16. Februar 2018
nGbK-Veranstaltungsraum, 1. OG

15 Uhr
Podiumsdiskussion (EN)”Performance als Ort unangepassten Verhaltens (Teil 1): Mode und Genderentgrenzung” mit Kata Benedek, Gyula Muskovics, Andi Soós und Gabriele Stötzer, Moderation: David Crowley

17.30 Uhr
Künstlerinnengespräch (DE) “Frauen, die Ehe ist gegen Euch!” mit Ewa Partum und Karolina Majewska-Güde

19 Uhr
Performance “KONTRAKTUS – célébration sologame” von Judit Kele

Samstag, 17. Februar 2018
nGbK-Veranstaltungsraum, 1. OG

14 Uhr
Podiumsdiskussion(EN)”Performances und ihre Archive” mit Roddy Hunter, Heike Roms, Branka Stipancic und Andrej Mircev, Moderation: Judit Bodor

16 Uhr
Künstlergespräch (DE) „’EIN BUNTER BLUMENSTRAUSS FÜR UNSERE REPUBLIK’. Mit Spaß, Kunst und Mode Konventionen brechen in der DDR” mit Jürgen Hohmuth

17 Uhr
Lecture Performance (EN) “Vocabulary of Revolutionary Gestures” von Elske Rosenfeld

18 Uhr
Podiumsdiskussion (EN) “Performance als Ort unangepassten Verhaltens (Teil 2): Linke Kritik” mit Anna Artwinska, Constanze Fritzsch, Bojana Matejic und Judit Bodor, Moderation: Beáta Hock

20 Uhr
Performance “Alice in Codeland” von Katalin Ladik

Unterstützt von