Revision: Peripherie als Ort

The Hellersdorf Project. Photo series by Helga Paris and Ulrich Wüst

13 September–21 November 2020
Opening: 12 September 2020

Exhibition
Event Series

Location(s):
nGbK (Event space, 1st floor), Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Sports hall, Carola-Neher-Straße 51, 12619 Berlin
station urbaner kulturen, Auerbacher Ring 41, 12619 Berlin

Artists

Helga Paris, Ulrich Wüst

Participants

Ulrich Domröse, Wolfgang Kil, Urs Kohlbrenner, Helke Misselwitz, Arne Schmitt, Inka Schube, Ulrich Wüst

Project group station urbaner kulturen

Jochen Becker, Fabian Bovens, Eva Hertzsch, Margarete Kiss, Constanze Musterer, Adam Page

Assistance

Jana Müller

The exhibition »Periphery as a Place - The Hellersdorf Project«, organised by Ulrich Domröse (outgoing curator for photography at the Berlinische Galerie), was first shown at the nGbK in Kreuzberg over twenty years ago. Now nGbK will present two of the photo series from that exhibition – urban landscapes by Ulrich Wüst and portraits of young people by Helga Paris – at its satelite location, the station urbaner kulturen in Hellersdorf. This revision will afford a new discussion about the work and will be complimented by additional works by both photographers.

For the exhibition in 1999 commissioned by the Hellersdorf housing association (WoGeHe), Ulrich Domröse invited the renowned artists Helga Paris and Ulrich Wüst, as well as Jens Rötzsch and Max Baumann, to explore the large Hellersdorf housing estate and to materialise their observations in photographic series.

Frictions between »The Hellersdorf Project« today and in 1999 will now be the subject of a re-examination in the station urbaner kulturen: how has the estate developed since 1999, what connections exist between the inner city and the periphery, and what are the people involved in the original project doing today? In addition, the photo series will be placed in the context of the photographers’ bodies of artistic work.

In 1999, the exhibition was presented to an audience interested in photography and urbanism at the nGbK in Kreuzberg and later in Hellersdorf itself. Having also been shown in Turin, the photo series was then bought for the Berlinische Galerie collection.

The WoGeHe used fine art as part of its struggle to stem the rapidly deteriorating image of so many prefab ›Plattenbau‹ estates in fomer East Berlin at the end of the 1990s. It commissioned numerous sculptures in public space as well as this ambitious photographic exploration of the periphery.

»The Hellersdorf Project« was documented in an extensive catalogue with essays by Alexander Osang, Rolf Schneider and Gerwin Zohlen.

The photography curator Inka Schube (today curator at Sprengel Museum Hannover), the director of nGbK Leonie Baumann (today rector at Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin), the curator Karin Scheel (today artistic director at Schloss Biesdorf) and “WoGeHe”’s former managing director Jack Gelfort (today member the AfD Party in Freiburg) were also involved in the realisation of »The Hellersdorf Project«.
Julia Hartmann, an anonymous schoolgirl photographed by Helga Paris at the time, played the part of a trainee policewomen in the German crime drama series »Tatort«, and the women who still run the butcher’s shop opposite the venue also feature.

Events:

Saturday, 10 October 2020, 18:00
Talk with Ulrich Wüst and Arne Schmitt

The photographer Ulrich Wüst (born 1949 in Magdeburg, based in Berlin and Norduckermark) rarely talks about his work in public. He will be accompanied by the photographer and artist Arne Schmitt (born 1984 in Mayen, based in Cologne and Zurich) whose exhibition in station urbaner kulturen will open early December. Both share an interest in a sober, often black and white observation of the public sphere and of urban modernity. Both think in terms of photographic series rather than individual images.

Thursday, 22 October 2020, 18:00
Film screening »HELGA PARIS, FOTOGRAFIN« and talk with Helke Misselwitz
Moderation: Jochen Becker (AG station urbaner kulturen)

The director Helke Misselwitz (born 1947 in Planitz near Zwickau) works mainly with documentary formats. She has influenced an entire generation as a filmmaker and professor of Film Direction at the Konrad Wolf University of Film and Television in Babelsberg. She has had a long friendship with the photographer Helga Paris (born 1938 in Gollnow). Helga Paris worked on her Film ›Herzsprung‹ (1992) as a still photographer and as an actress in ›Engelchen‹ (1996). Helke Misselwitz’s documentary film triptych, “HELGA PARIS, FOTOGRAFIN” (completed 2019) will be shown before the discussion.

Saturday, 21 November 2020, 16:00 via video conference
Talk with Ulrich Domröse (Berlinische Galerie) and Urs Kohlbrenner (Planergemeinschaft Kohlbrenner)
Moderation: Jochen Becker (AG station urbaner kulturen)

Over twenty years ago Ulrich Domröse (departing curator for photography at the Berlinische Galerie) organised the exhibition »Periphery as Place: The Hellersdorf Project«, which was first shown in 1999 at the nGbK in Kreuzberg and later in Hellersdorf itself. Domröse invited, among others, the artists Helga Paris and Ulrich Wüst: »The Hellersdorf Project arose from the need to reflect on current developments in the periphery using Hellersdorf as an example. We were looking for pictures that interpreted their subject matter rather than documenting it.«

Parallel, the urban planner and architect Prof. Urs Kohlbrenner produced a »Concept for Hellersdorf neighbourhoods - a large housing estate becomes part of the city«, which sought to give this former GDR estate a new face. Both Domröse and Kohlbrenner were commissioned by the Hellersdorf Housing Association (WoGeHe), who deployed fine art as part of its attempts to resist the rapid deterioration of the image of the ›Plattenbau‹ housing estates in the east of Berlin.
The discussion seeks to reconstruct this decisive moment in time, with special regard to the present and future situations of such housing estates.

Saturday, 21 November 2020, 18:00 via video conference
Talk with Inka Schube (Sprengel Museum Hannover) and Wolfgang Kil (critic / architect)
Moderation: Jochen Becker (AG station urbaner kulturen)

As curator for photography at the Sprengel Museum Hannover, Inka Schube organised the first major retrospective of Helga Paris’ photographs in 2004 and more recently at the Akademie der Künste on Pariser Platz in Berlin. She is also the editor of the book recently published by Spector Verlag with photographs of Leipzig’s main railway station, which she rediscovered in Paris’ archive. Her exhibition »Helga Paris Photography/Photography« is being shown all over the world by Germany’s Institute for Foreign Relations. Inka Schube was also involved in the »The Hellersdorf Project«.

Wolfgang Kil studied with Ulrich Wüst in Weimar - Kil Architecture, Wüst Urban Planning. Both initially worked in these professions, but soon gave them up, as they could no longer see any room for creativity in the technocratisation of GDR urbanism. While Wüst concentrated on artistic photography with a focus on city views, Wolfgang Kil worked as a critic on photography and urbanity.
The discussion will focus on the particularities of the photographs currently exhibited in the station urbaner kulturen.

Financed by

Revision: Peripherie als Ort

Das Hellersdorf-Projekt. Fotoserien von Helga Paris und Ulrich Wüst

13. September–21. November 2020
Eröffnung: 12. September 2020

Ausstellung
Veranstaltungsreihe

Ort(e):
nGbK (Veranstaltungsraum, 1.OG), Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Sporthalle, Carola-Neher-Straße 51, 12619 Berlin
station urbaner kulturen, Auerbacher Ring 41, 12619 Berlin

Künstler_innen

Helga Paris, Ulrich Wüst

Teilnehmer_innen

Ulrich Domröse, Wolfgang Kil, Urs Kohlbrenner, Helke Misselwitz, Arne Schmitt, Inka Schube, Ulrich Wüst

Arbeitsgruppe station urbaner kulturen

Jochen Becker, Fabian Bovens, Eva Hertzsch, Margarete Kiss, Constanze Musterer, Adam Page

Mitarbeit

Jana Müller

Vor über zwanzig Jahren organisierte Ulrich Domröse (scheidender Kurator für Fotografie an der Berlinischen Galerie) die Ausstellung »Peripherie als Ort – Das Hellersdorf-Projekt«, die erstmals in der nGbK in Kreuzberg gezeigt wurde. Nun präsentiert die nGbK noch einmal zwei der damals gezeigten Fotoserien – die Stadtaufnahmen von Ulrich Wüst sowie die Jugendlichen-Porträts von Helga Paris – in ihrer Zweigstelle station urbaner kulturen, in Hellersdorf. Die Arbeiten sollen erneut dem Publikum vorgestellt und diskutiert werden. Hinzu kommen ergänzende Werke beider Fotograf_innen.

Ulrich Domröse lud für die Ausstellung 1999 mit Helga Paris und Ulrich Wüst (sowie Jens Rötzsch und Max Baumann) hochkarätige Künstler_innen ein, um die Großsiedlungen von Hellersdorf zu erkunden und ihre Beobachtungen zu fotografischen Serien zu entwickeln. Das Projekt kam auf Initiative der Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Hellersdorf zustande.

Die Friktionen zwischen dem Hellersdorf-Projekt 1999 und dem Heute sollen nun als Revision in der station urbaner kulturen zum Thema gemacht werden: Wie hat sich das Quartier seither weiterentwickelt, welche Beziehungen bestehen zwischen Mitte und Pampa, und was machen die damaligen Akteur_innen heute? Nicht zuletzt werden die Fotoserien in einen künstlerischen Werkkontext gestellt.

1999 wurde die Ausstellung einem fotokünstlerisch und urbanistisch interessierten Publikum in der nGbK in Kreuzberg sowie in Hellersdorf selbst präsentiert. Nach einer Ausstellungsexkursion in Turin gingen die Bildserien in die Sammlung der Berlinischen Galerie ein.

Die Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Hellersdorf (WoGeHe), die sich Ende der 1990er Jahre gegen den rapiden Imageverfall der ›Plattensiedlungen‹ im Osten Berlins auch mit Mitteln der bildenden Kunst zu erwehren suchte, förderte Skulpturen im öffentlichen Raum sowie das groß angelegte fotografische Erkundungsprojekt in der Peripherie.
Das »Hellersdorf-Projekt« wurde in einem umfangreichen Katalog mit Essays von Alexander Osang, Rolf Schneider und Gerwin Zohlen dokumentiert.

An der Umsetzung des Ausstellungsvorhabens mitgewirkt hatten seinerzeit u.a. die Fotokuratorin Inka Schube (heute Kuratorin Sprengel Museum Hannover), die nGbK-Geschäftsführerin Leonie Baumann (heute Rektorin der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin), die Kuratorin Karin Scheel (heute Künstlerische Leiterin Schloss Biesdorf) oder Jack Gelfort, ehemaliger Geschäftsführer der Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Hellersdorf und heutiges Mitglied im Kreisverband der AfD in Freiburg.
Julia Hartmann, eine damals von Helga Paris fotografierte namenlose Schülerin, spielte im »Tatort« eine Polizeianwärterin, und auch die noch immer gleichen Betreiberinnen der Fleischerei gegenüber finden sich wieder.

Termine:

Samstag, 10. Oktober 2020, 18 Uhr
Gespräch mit Ulrich Wüst und Arne Schmitt

Nur selten gibt der in Berlin und in der Norduckermark lebende Fotograf Ulrich Wüst (geb. 1949 in Magdeburg) Auskunft über seine Arbeit. Ihm zur Seite steht der in Köln und Zürich lebende Fotograf und Künstler Arne Schmitt (geb. 1984 in Mayen), dessen Ausstellung im Dezember in der station urbaner kulturen eröffnet. Beide teilen das Interesse an der nüchternen, oft schwarzweißen Betrachtung des Öffentlichen und der städtischen Moderne, und beide denken eher in fotografischen Serien denn in Einzelbildern.

Donnerstag, 22. Oktober 2020, 18 Uhr
Film-Screening »HELGA PARIS, FOTOGRAFIN« und Gespräch mit Helke Misselwitz
Moderation: Jochen Becker (AG station urbaner kulturen)

Die zumeist dokumentarisch arbeitende Regisseurin Helke Misselwitz (geb. 1947 in Planitz bei Zwickau) hat als Filmemacherin und Professorin für Regie an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen Konrad Wolf in Babelsberg eine ganze Generation beeinflusst. Mit der Fotografin Helga Paris (*1938 in Gollnow) verbindet sie eine lange Freundschaft; zugleich hat Helga Paris als Standfotografin in ›Herzsprung‹ (1992) und als Darstellerin in ›Engelchen‹ (1996) mitgewirkt. Vor dem Gespräch mit Helke Misselwitz wird ihr 2019 fertiggestelltes Dokumentarfilm-Triptychon »HELGA PARIS, FOTOGRAFIN« gezeigt.

Samstag, 21. November 2020, 16 Uhr per Videokonferenz
Gespräch mit Ulrich Domröse (Berlinische Galerie) und Urs Kohlbrenner (Planergemeinschaft Kohlbrenner)
Moderation: Jochen Becker (AG station urbaner kulturen)

Vor über zwanzig Jahren organisierte Ulrich Domröse (scheidender Kurator für Fotografie an der Berlinischen Galerie) die Ausstellung »Peripherie als Ort – Das Hellersdorf-Projekt«, die 1999 erstmals in der nGbK in Kreuzberg und später vor Ort gezeigt wurde. Domröse lud u.a. die Künstler_innen Helga Paris und Ulrich Wüst ein: »Das Hellersdorf-Projekt entstand aus dem Bedürfnis heraus, die gegenwärtige Entwicklung am Beispiel von Hellersdorf zu reflektieren. Bei den Fotografien war deshalb eine Auffassung gefragt, die das Gesehene eher interpretiert als dokumentiert.«

Zeitgleich stellte der Stadtplaner und Architekt Prof. Urs Kohlbrenner das »Quartierkonzept Hellersdorf – Eine Großsiedlung wird zum Teil der Stadt« vor, das der ehemaligen DDR-Großsiedlung ein neues Gesicht geben sollte. Sowohl Domröse als auch Kohlbrenner arbeiteten für den gleichen Auftraggeber, die Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Hellersdorf (WoGeHe), die sich Ende der 1990er Jahre gegen den rapiden Imageverfall der ›Plattensiedlungen‹ im Osten Berlins mit Mitteln der Bildenden Kunst und der Stadtplanung zu erwehren suchte. Das geplante Gespräch soll diesen entscheidenden Moment insbesondere in Hinblick auf Gegenwart und Zukunft der Siedlungen rekonstruieren.

Samstag, 21. November 2020 per Videokonferenz
Gespräch mit Inka Schube (Sprengel Museum Hannover) und Wolfgang Kil (Kritiker / Architekt)
Moderation: Jochen Becker (AG station urbaner kulturen)

Inka Schube hat als Kuratorin für Fotografie am Sprengel Museum Hannover 2004 die erste große Retrospektive der Fotografien von Helga Paris sowie jüngst in der Akademie der Künste am Pariser Platz organisiert. Sie ist außerdem Herausgeberin des kürzlich beim Spector Verlag erschienenen Bildbands mit von ihr im Archiv Paris wiederentdeckten Aufnahmen des Leipziger Hauptbahnhofs. Ihre Ausstellung »Helga Paris Fotografie/Photography« wird vom Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen in der ganzen Welt gezeigt. Beim »Hellersdorfs-Projekt« hatte Inka Schube mitgearbeitet.

Wolfgang Kil studierte gemeinsam mit Ulrich Wüst in Weimar – Kil Architektur, Wüst Stadtplanung. Beide arbeiteten anfangs in ihren Professionen, gaben diese aber bald auf, da sie in der Technokratisierung des DDR-Urbanismus für sich keine Gestaltungsräume mehr erkennen konnten. Während Wüst sich auf die künstlerische Fotografie mit Schwerpunkt Stadtansichten konzentrierte, arbeitete Wolfgang Kil als Fotografie- und Stadtkritiker. Das geplante Gespräch soll sich den Besonderheiten der in der station urbane kulturen ausgestellten Fotografien widmen.

Finanziert von