SOFT SOIL

14 February–29 November 2020

Event Series

Location(s):
nGbK, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Various venues in Berlin

Participants

No Humboldt 21!, Ayo Akingbade, Anonyme Anwohnende, KOP Berlin, Solidarity City Berlin, Kunstblock and beyond, A.S.S. Collective, Corasol, Corasol, AFROTAK TV cyberNomads, D‘EST, Senka Domanović, Anna Engelhardt, Orhan Esen, Lause Lebt e.V., Break Isolation Group, Initiative Hermannplatz, Ruthia Jenrbekova, Flo Kasearu, Emsal Kılıç, Eva Löbau, Berlin Postkolonial, Lotte Schreiber & Michael Rieper, Asad Schwarz-Msesilamba, International Women* Space, Hans Stürm & Nina Stürm, Kollektiv Syndikat, Vanessa E. Thompson, Florian Wüst

Project group

Jennifer Bennett, Sonja Hornung, Vicky Kiefer, siddhartha lokanandi, Sonya Schönberger

SOFT SOIL is a discursive format with a mobile platform returning to the nGbK in three ›blocks‹ of events, which take place in-between exhibitions. SOFT SOIL describes the ambivalence of the sandy ground Berlin is built on: both the attrition of urban structures through privatisation and speculation, and the malleability of urban space through everyday practices and resistance. The format addresses colonial continuities, and questions relating to the neoliberal transformation of the city since 1990. Additionally, it critically examines the relationship between space and gender relations. Initiatives, researchers, artists and all interested are invited to enter into exchange through discussions, screenings and workshops — in the spirit of solidarity in practice. What ideals shape the production of so-called public space, and what might »Stadt für alle« (»city for all«) mean?

I/III BESTANDSAUFNAHME
There’s no such thing as a city for all (yet)

14-16 February 2020
The extent of urban displacements and the social urgency of the housing question have reached a new climax. Now more than ever, Berlin’s cityscape is characterised by new forms of resistance and alliances. Slogans such as »Stadt für alle« (»A City for All«) und »Wir bleiben alle« (»We’re All Staying«) are part of the fight against neoliberal urban developments that exacerbate marginalisation. Public space is, however, from the outset marked by mechanisms of exclusion. Colonial continuities are present in urban structures, in official processes of memorialisation, but also through racial profiling. PoC (People of Colour) and people with migrant backgrounds have for some time called for urban struggles and the »Right to the City« to be considered from an anticolonial perspective, fundamentally questioning who exactly the »Stadt für alle« is for, and to what extent pre-existing power relations limit activist work. At the same time, networks are forming that seek to overcome capitalist segregation in urban space through solidarity in practice. They produce new forms of urban knowledge and claim their own in-between spaces, whether as a temporary expression of being together, or in the form of permanent structures. Accompanying all this is the question of how art might position itself to work against the »artwashing« of gentrification.

Programme:

Friday, 14 February 2020, 19:00
Welcome
Lecture (de) »Racism on the housing market and the question of »Stadt für alle« by Emsal Kılıç

Saturday, 15 February 2020, 14:00
Welcome
Workshops (run concurrently)
- »Who the fuck is Pears? Oder: Wem gehört eigentlich mein Haus?« (de) with Kollektiv Syndikat
- »Rassismus und Ausschluss in Alltagsstrukturen« (fr/de) with Corasol
- »Stadt für alle – Lause für alle!« (de) with Lause Lebt e.V.
19:00
Film Program and discussion
»Menschen im Experiment« with Florian Wüst
Films by Ayo Akingbade, Lotte Schreiber & Michael Rieper, Hans Stürm & Nina Stürm

Sunday, 16 February 2020, 16:00–19:00
Open discussion »Self-organised spaces in the neoliberal city« (de/en) moderated by Kunstblock and beyond

[Detailed programme > see PDF »Programme SOFT SOIL I en«]


II/III BEYOND EMERGENCY
Unsettling spaces

14–16 August 2020
In the second of three event clusters, SOFT SOIL takes a longer view on current developments. The situation caused by COVID-19 brings fundamental repercussions for the city. Unequal access to spaces and resources is intensified by the crisis, and re-existing mechanisms for exclusion are exacerbated. Ever-shifting legislation throws new questions into sharp relief – including the possibility for community activism in urban contexts. If commercial activities are prioritised in shared urban spaces, or racist police controls are intensified, how does this affect the scope for action? How, in light of restrictions, is it possible to maintain and build on solidarity structures against gentrification, discrimination, and isolation? Are current levers set into motion by political and economic interests aligned with processes of privatisation, economisation and financialisation already at work in the 1990s or earlier? Could looking towards the end of state socialism and the system change to capitalism help to better understand such processes? Has neoliberalism changed hearts and minds?

Programme:

Friday, 14 August 2020
Online event
19:00
Welcome and introduction (de*)
19:30
Two short lectures & discussion (de)
»Policing of Black lives and the conditions of abolitionist resistances« by Vanessa E. Thompson
»Function follows form: When the dream of equality is dreamt out« by Orhan Esen

Saturday, 15 August 2020
11:00–13:00
Workshop »Right to the City – Space for All« (de) with Initiative Hermannplatz (local grassroots organisation)
14:00–14:45
(NEW:) Input »Take it down and turn it inside out!« (en) with Coalition of Cultural Workers against the Humboldt Forum
15:00–15:45
Input »Ban Racial Profiling!« (de/fr) with KOP Berlin (Campaign for victims of racist police violence)
16:00–16:30
Concluding discussion (de/fr)

19:30
Video Program »Space Ideologies« with D’EST (Ulrike Gerhardt & Daria Iuriichuk)
Video works and film excerpts by Anna Engelhardt, A.S.S. Collective (Mizu Sugai & Jonathan Jung), Senka Domanović, Ruthia Jenrbekova & Flo Kasearu
Followed by a discussion with A.S.S. Collective (de)

Sunday, 16 August 2020, 14:00–17:00
Kieztour »Oh-Straße! How To Sell Your City: A Guided Tour« (de) with Anonyme Anwohnende

[Detailed programme > see PDF »Programme SOFT SOIL II en«]


III/III PRIVATE POLICE PARTNERSHIP
Solidarities in the city under pressure

27-29 November 2020
At the beginning of 2020, SOFT SOIL began with the statement »There’s no such thing as a city for all (yet)«. The series of events investigated enduring power imbalances relating to urban struggles: a non-German-sounding surname leads to difficulties in the search for a flat; exorbitant rents displace those who earn less; everyday racism and racist police controls exclude; self-organised spaces are ousted – when they resist, with police violence. The ›public‹ is policed (Vanessa E. Thompson), while the spaces created for this public become ever-more exclusive.
Public-Private-Partnerships are common under neoliberalism. They come into being when publicly funded institutions create long-term contracts with the private sector. The so-called ›common good‹ must yield profit. Conversely, the private sector wins influence in urban decision-making processes.
In the third event block, the following questions are opened: Which understandings of democratic practice are currently predominant? How do the philanthropic desires and neo-colonial/neo-imperialist fantasies of a rich minority shape urban spaces? How might a gentrification-resistant and decolonial city be conceived in solidarity? Which structures do refugee women* build among themselves? When does private property have priority over coexistence in solidarity, the needs of the Kiez, and neighbourhood structures?

Online-programme:

Friday, 27 November 2020, 19:00–21:00
»Wir – Gespräche zum demokratischen Alltag in Berlin [We – Conversations on democracy and everyday life in Berlin]« (de*)
Reading with Eva Löbau & Asad Schwarz-Msesilamba basierend based on interviews by Sonya Schönberger with a.o. Jennifer Kamau, Josephine Apraku, Katalin Gennburg, Gülcan Nitsch, Till Egen, Christian Herwartz, Hans-Christian Ströbele, Niloufar Tajeri

Saturday, 28 November 2020
12:00–15:00

»Zur Dekolonialisierung des Städtischen / On decolonising urban space« (de/en)
with No Humboldt 21!, Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland ISD, Berlin Postkolonial, AFROTAK TV cyberNomads & Coalition of Cultural Workers against the Humboldt Forum
15:30–17:30
»Corona Lager Reports« (en)
Listening session, discussion with Break Isolation Group, International Women* Space

Sunday, 29 November 2020, 13:00–15:00
»Haus verkauft! Oranienstraße 25 und damit verbundene Kämpfe« (de)
with a.o. AK Standort/O-straße der nGbK

[Detailed programme > see PDF »Programme SOFT SOIL III en«]

SOFT SOIL

14. Februar–29. November 2020

Veranstaltungsreihe

Ort(e):
nGbK, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Verschiedene Orte in Berlin

Teilnehmer_innen

No Humboldt 21!, Ayo Akingbade, Anonyme Anwohnende, KOP Berlin, Solidarity City Berlin, Kunstblock and beyond, A.S.S. Collective, Corasol, Corasol, AFROTAK TV cyberNomads, D‘EST, Senka Domanović, Anna Engelhardt, Orhan Esen, Lause Lebt e.V., Break Isolation Group, Initiative Hermannplatz, Ruthia Jenrbekova, Flo Kasearu, Emsal Kılıç, Eva Löbau, Berlin Postkolonial, Lotte Schreiber & Michael Rieper, Asad Schwarz-Msesilamba, International Women* Space, Hans Stürm & Nina Stürm, Kollektiv Syndikat, Vanessa E. Thompson, Florian Wüst

Arbeitsgruppe

Jennifer Bennett, Sonja Hornung, Vicky Kiefer, siddhartha lokanandi, Sonya Schönberger

SOFT SOIL ist ein diskursives Format mit einer mobilen Plattform, das in drei Veranstaltungsblöcken zwischen den Ausstellungen der nGbK wiederkehrt. Es beschreibt die Ambivalenz des sandigen Grundes, auf dem Berlin gebaut ist: die Zermürbung urbaner Strukturen durch Privatisierung und Spekulation einerseits und die Veränderbarkeit des städtischen Raumes durch Alltagspraktiken und Widerstand andererseits. Das Format thematisiert koloniale Kontinuitäten und Fragen zur neoliberalen Transformation in der Stadt nach 1990. Außerdem wird ein kritischer Blick auf die Beziehung zwischen Raum und Geschlechterverhältnissen geworfen. Initiativen, Wissenschaftler_innen, Künstler_innen und Interessierte sind in Gesprächen, Screenings und Workshops zum Austausch eingeladen – im Sinne einer solidarischen Praxis. Welche Ideale prägen die Produktion des sogenannten öffentlichen Raums und was bedeutet »Stadt für alle«?

I/III – Bestandsaufnahme
Eine Stadt für alle gab es (noch) nie

14.-16. Februar 2020
Das Ausmaß der städtischen Verdrängung und die soziale Dringlichkeit der Wohnungsfrage haben einen neuen Höhepunkt erreicht. Zugleich ist das Berliner Stadtbild wie nie zuvor geprägt von Widerstandsbotschaften und neuen Bündnissen. Unter Slogans wie »Stadt für alle« und »Wir bleiben alle« wird gegen die neoliberale Stadtentwicklung gekämpft, die die Ausgrenzung vorantreibt. Der öffentliche Raum ist allerdings seit jeher von Ausgrenzungsmechanismen gekennzeichnet. So wirken beispielsweise koloniale Strukturen alltäglich im Stadtraum, in der Erinnerungskultur, aber auch in polizeilichen Kontrollen nach. Seit einiger Zeit fordern PoC (People of Colour) und migrantische Stimmen, die Kämpfe und das »Recht auf Stadt« aus einer antikolonialen Perspektive zu betrachten, um grundsätzlich zu hinterfragen, wer mit »Stadt für alle« tatsächlich gemeint ist und inwiefern hegemoniale Verhältnisse aktivistisches Handeln begrenzen. Zugleich entstehen Zusammenschlüsse, die durch eine solidarische Praxis die kapitalistische Segregation im Stadtraum zu überwinden suchen. Sie produzieren neues urbanes Wissen und schaffen Zwischenräume, ob als temporärer Ausdruck des Gemeinsamen oder als nachhaltige Strukturen. Damit einher geht auch die Frage, wie Kunst Stellung beziehen und dem »Artwashing« der Gentrifizierung entgegenwirken kann.

Programm:

Freitag, 14. Februar 2020, 19:00
Begrüßung
Vortrag (de) »Rassismus auf dem Wohnungsmarkt und die Frage nach einer »Stadt für alle« « von Emsal Kılıç

Samstag, 15. Februar 2020, 14:00
Begrüßung
Parallele Workshops
- »Who the fuck is Pears? Oder: Wem gehört eigentlich mein Haus?« (de) mit Kollektiv Syndikat
- »Rassismus und Ausschluss in Alltagsstrukturen« (fr/de) mitwith Corasol
- »Stadt für alle – Lause für alle!« (de) mit Lause Lebt e.V.
19:00
Filmprogramm und Diskussion
»Menschen im Experiment« mit Florian Wüst
Filme von Ayo Akingbade, Lotte Schreiber & Michael Rieper, Hans Stürm & Nina Stürm

Sonntag, 16. Februar 2020, 16:00–19:00
Offener Austausch »Selbstorganisierte Räume in der neoliberalen Stadt« (de/en) moderiert von Kunstblock and beyond

[Ausführliches Programm > siehe PDF »Programm SOFT SOIL I de«]


II/III BEYOND EMERGENCY
Raumerschütterungen

14.–16. August 2020
Im zweiten von drei Veranstaltungsblöcken gibt SOFT SOIL einen erweiterten Blick auf aktuelle Entwicklungen. Die durch COVID-19 verursachte Situation hat grundlegende Auswirkungen auf den Stadtraum: Ungleicher Zugang zu Raum und Ressourcen wird durch die Krise verschärft und bestehende Ausgrenzungsmechanismen verstärken sich. Durch sich immer wieder verändernde Regeln werden Fragen aufgeworfen – zum Beispiel, welche Möglichkeiten des gemeinsamen Handelns im urbanen Raum bleiben bzw. entstehen. Wenn der städtische Raum primär für wirtschaftliche Zwecke nutzbar ist oder sich rassistische polizeiliche Kontrollen verstärken, wo bleibt dann noch Handlungsspielraum? Welche Möglichkeiten gibt es dennoch, angesichts neuer Einschränkungen, Solidaritätsstrukturen gegen Gentrifizierung, Diskriminierung und Vereinzelung zu erhalten und auszubauen? Sind die Hebel, die jetzt von der Politik und Wirtschaft in Gang ge- setzt werden, Teil von Prozessen der Ökonomisierung und Finanzialisierung, die bereits in den 1990ern oder früher ausgelöst wurden? Wie kann ein Blick auf diese Zeit – also auf das Ende des Staatssozialismus und den kapitalistischen Systemwechsel – helfen, Vorgänge wie Privatisierung und Spekulation besser zu verstehen? Hat der Neoliberalismus die Herzen und Seelen der Menschen verändert?

Programm:

Freitag, 14. August 2020
Online-Veranstaltung
19:00
Begrüßung (de)
19:30
Zwei kurze Vorträge & Diskussion (de)
»Polizieren von Schwarzem Leben und Bedingungen abolitionistischer Widerstände« von Vanessa E. Thompson
»Function Follows Form: Wenn der Traum von Gleichheit ausgeträumt wird« von Orhan Esen

Samstag, 15. August 2020
11:00–13:00
Workshop »Recht auf Stadt – Platz für alle« (de) mit Initiative Hermannplatz (Kiezinitiative)
14:00–14:45
(NEU:) Input »Take it down and turn it inside out!« (en) mit Coalition of Cultural Workers against the Humboldt Forum
15:00–15:45
Input »Ban Racial Profiling!« (de/fr) mit KOP Berlin (Kampagne für Opfer rassistischer Polizeigewalt)
16:00–16:30
Abschlussdiskussion (de/fr)
19:30
Videoprogramm »Space Ideologies« mit D‘EST (Ulrike Gerhardt & Daria Iuriichuk)
Videoarbeiten und Filmausschnitte zu den Auswirkungen von Privatisierung in postsozialistischen Städten von Anna Engelhardt, A.S.S. Collective (Mizu Sugai & Jonathan Jung), Senka Domanović, Ruthia Jenrbekova & Flo Kasearu
Im Anschluss Diskussion mit A.S.S. Collective (de)

Sonntag, 16. August 2020, 14:00–17:00
Kieztour »Oh-Straße! How To Sell Your City: A Guided Tour« (de) mit Anonyme Anwohnende

[Ausführliches Programm > siehe PDF »Programm SOFT SOIL II de«]


III/III PRIVATE POLICE PARTNERSHIP
Solidaritäten in der Stadt unter Druck

27.-29. November 2020
Anfang 2020 begann SOFT SOIL mit der Aussage: »Eine Stadt für alle gab es (noch) nie«. In den Veranstaltungen wurden andauernde Missstände genauer untersucht: Ein nicht deutsch klingender Nachname führt zu Schwierigkeiten bei der Wohnungssuche; höhere Mieten verdrängen Geringverdienende; Alltagsrassismen und rassistische Polizeikontrollen exkludieren; selbstorganisierte Räume werden verdrängt oder bei Widerstand mit Polizeigewalt geräumt. Das ›Öffentliche‹ wird polizeilich aufrechterhalten (Vanessa E. Thompson) und die Räume, die für die ›Öffentlichkeit‹ geschaffen werden, werden immer exklusiver.
Public-Private-Partnerships sind im Neoliberalismus gängige Praxis und bestehen darin, dass staatlich geförderte Institutionen im Rahmen langfristiger Verträge mit der Privatwirtschaft zusammenarbeiten: Das sogenannte ›Gemeinwohl‹ muss Profit erzeugen. Umgekehrt gewinnt die Privatwirtschaft Mitsprache in städtischen Entscheidungsprozessen.
Im dritten Veranstaltungsblock werden folgende Fragen behandelt: Was für ein Verständnis demokratischer Prozesse ist aktuell vorherrschend? Wie prägen das philanthropische Begehren und die neokolonialen/neoimperialistischen Fantasien einer reichen Minderheit den Stadtraum? Wie kann man eine gentrifizierungsresistente und dekoloniale Stadt denken? Welche Netzwerke schaffen geflüchtete Frauen* untereinander? Wann hat Privateigentum Vorrang vor solidarischem Miteinander, Kiezbedarf und Nachbarschaft?

Online-Programm:

Freitag, 27. November 2020, 19:00–21:00
»Wir – Gespräche zum demokratischen Alltag in Berlin« (de)
Lesung mit Eva Löbau & Asad Schwarz-Msesilamba basierend auf Interviews von Sonya Schönberger u.a. mit Jennifer Kamau, Josephine Apraku, Katalin Gennburg, Gülcan Nitsch, Till Egen, Christian Herwartz, Hans-Christian Ströbele, Niloufar Tajeri

Samstag, 28. November 2020
12:00–15:00

»Zur Dekolonialisierung des Städtischen« (de/en)
mit No Humboldt 21!, Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland ISD, Berlin Postkolonial, AFROTAK TV cyberNomads & Coalition of Cultural Workers against the Humboldt Forum
15:00–17:00
»Corona Lager Reports« (en)
Hörsession, Diskussion mit Break Isolation Group, International Women* Space

Sonntag, 29. November 2020, 13:00–15:00
»Haus verkauft! Oranienstraße 25 und damit verbundene Kämpfe« (de)
u.a. mit AK Standort/O-straße der nGbK

[Ausführliches Programm > siehe PDF »Programm SOFT SOIL III de«]