Künstler_innenstipendium Istanbul-Berlin 2020 Artist-in-Residence Scholarship Istanbul-Berlin

1 January–31 December 2020

Scholarship

Location(s):
ZK/U Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik, KUNSTrePUBLIK e.V., Siemensstr. 27, 10551 Berlin

Artists

Leman Sevda Darıcıoğlu, Nermin Er

As of 2018, two scholarships will be granted annually to artists who live in Istanbul. The existing Istanbul stipend of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe was expanded to a true exchange, with a jury annually selecting two artists from Istanbul to be sent to Berlin and vice versa. The aim is to further enhance the relations between the partner cities of Berlin and Istanbul as well as the connections to the Turkish art scene. This is done with the conviction that international exchange and direct communication allow cultural diversity be experienced as an enrichment, inviting people to a change in perspective.

January - June 2020
Nermin Er

Nature is the major focus in the sculptural projects and animated films of artist Nermin Er, both its changing condition and its interaction with inhabitants of the animal and human variety. She is interested in the individual’s relation to the city, the concept of habitat, and how architecture influences everyday life. A core element in Nermin Er’s artistic trajectory is the use of light and shadow. Since 2017 she has worked increasingly on art in public spaces, sonic experiments and sound installations.

For her Berlin sojourn, Er is planning an intensive investigation of the migratory birds that fly southwards for the winter via Turkey. The birds serve her as a metaphor for obligatory migration from a familiar setting owing to changes in the environment, such as many people now experience as a daily reality.

Nermin Er was born in Istanbul in 1972. She graduated in Sculpture from the Mimar Sinan University in 1995. Nermin Er’s work has been shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions, inter alia at Galeri Nev (Istanbul, 2004, 2009, 2011), mental:KLİNİK (Istanbul, 2002), Aksanat (Istanbul, 2004), K2 (Izmir, 2005), Siemens Sanat Galerisi (Istanbul, 2005), Helene Nyborg Contemporary (Copenhagen 2006), Istanbul Modern (Istanbul, 2013) Cappadox (Cappadocia, 2017), Yanköşe (Istanbul, 2017) and Müze Evliyagil (Ankara, 2018).
nerminer.net

Events:
Thursday, 23 January 2020: OPENHAUS, ZK/U Berlin
Thursday, 18 June 2020: OPEN PARK HAUSES, ZK/U Berlin

July - December 2020
Leman Sevda Darıcıoğlu

Leman Sevda Darıcıoğlu’s extended performances place the body at the centre of artistic attention, inviting those present to slow down in order to feel the performative action and establish a connection. With reference to Giorgio Agamben’s concept of “homo sacer” that addresses the conditions under which life continues in biological terms while being otherwise unbearable, Darıcıoğlu tries to make space for what is effaced from the public sphere by power and whiteness as a sociocultural category. Themes include gentrification, migration, murders of transgender people, suicide, and personal relationships, with overarching concerns ranging from the history of minorities to the concept of home.

During the residency in Berlin, Leman S. Darıcıoğlu will focus on the topics of queer vulnerability and resilience of queer people. Starting with interviewing queer people living in Berlin who have experienced a traumatic life-threatening event, Darıcıoğlu aims to bring their stories to light. The interviews will be centered around questions such are how queer people have survived and rebuilt their lives after life-threatening experiences.
A website publishing these stories and a series of long-durational performances will be created by the artist as the result of the project.

Leman Sevda Darıcıoğlu (born 1985) was a member of Istanbul Queer Art Collective (2014-2017) and is now part of the Performistanbul International Performance Platform (since 2017). Darıcıoğlu’s performances and artistic works have been shown at performance festivals, in museums and galleries in Turkey and abroad, most recently at Venice International Performance Art Week 2020, Palazzo Mora, Venice; Future Ritual, Kunstraum, London (2019); Contemporary Istanbul Art Fair (2019); and Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2019).
lemandaricioglu.com

Events:
Saturday-Sunday, 29-30 August 2020, OPEN PARK HAUSES, ZK/U Berlin

The scholarship of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe is made possible in the frame of a cooperation between the neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) and the ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik in Berlin as well as DEPO in Istanbul.

Financed by

Künstler_innenstipendium Istanbul-Berlin 2020

1. Januar–31. Dezember 2020

Stipendium

Ort(e):
ZK/U Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik, KUNSTrePUBLIK e.V., Siemensstr. 27, 10551 Berlin

Künstler_innen

Leman Sevda Darıcıoğlu, Nermin Er

Seit 2018 werden jährlich zwei Stipendien an in Istanbul lebende Künstler_innen vergeben. Das bestehende Istanbul-Stipendium der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa wurde zu einem echten Austausch erweitert, indem jährlich zwei Künstler_innen aus Istanbul von einer Jury ausgewählt und nach Berlin entsandt werden und umgekehrt. Damit sollen die Beziehungen zwischen den Partnerstädten Berlin und Istanbul und die Verbindung zur türkischen Kunstszene weiter gestärkt werden. Dies folgt der Überzeugung, dass internationaler Austausch und unmittelbare Kommunikation kulturelle Vielfalt als Bereicherung erlebbar werden lassen und zum Perspektivenwechsel einladen.

Januar - Juni 2020
Nermin Er

In ihren skulpturalen Arbeiten und Animationsfilmen beschäftigt sich die Künstlerin Nermin Er insbesondere mit der Natur und ihrem sich verändernden Zustand sowie mit der Stadt und ihrem Verhältnis zu ihren Bewohner_innen - ob tierisch oder menschlich. Es geht ihr um die Beziehung des Einzelnen zur Stadt, den Begriff des Wohnens und darum, wie Architektur den Alltag beeinflusst. Zentrales Element im künstlerischen Schaffen von Nermin Er ist die Verwendung von Licht und Schatten. Seit 2017 beschäftigt sie sich zunehmend mit Kunst im öffentlichen Raum sowie mit Soundarbeiten und Klanginstallationen.

Für ihren Berlin-Aufenthalt plant Er eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit Zugvögeln, die über die Türkei in den Süden fliegen, um dort zu überwintern. Die Vögel dienen ihr als Metapher für den Zustand der erzwungenen Migration aus der vertrauten Umgebung aufgrund von Veränderungen in der Umwelt, wie sie für viele Menschen tagtägliche Wirklichkeit ist.

Nermin Er wurde 1972 in Istanbul geboren. 1995 schloss sie ihr Studium der Bildhauerei an der Mimar Sinan Universität ab. Nermin Ers Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen, darunter Galeri Nev (Istanbul, 2004, 2009, 2011), mental:KLİNİK (Istanbul, 2002), Aksanat (Istanbul, 2004), K2 (Izmir, 2005), Siemens Sanat Galerisi (Istanbul, 2005), Helene Nyborg Contemporary (Kopenhagen 2006), Istanbul Modern (Istanbul, 2013) Cappadox (Kappadokien, 2017), Yanköşe (Istanbul, 2017) und Müze Evliyagil (Ankara, 2018) gezeigt.
nerminer.net

Termine:
Donnerstag, 23. Januar 2020: OPENHAUS, ZK/U Berlin
Donnerstag, 18. Juni 2020: OPEN PARK HAUSES, ZK/U Berlin

Juli - Dezember 2020
Leman Sevda Darıcıoğlu

Die Langzeit-Performances von Leman Sevda Darıcıoğlu stellen den Körper ins Zentrum der künstlerischen Untersuchung. Dabei laden sie die Anwesenden ein, selbst zu entschleunigen, um die performative Aktion zu erspüren und in eine Verbindung zu treten. In Anlehnung an Giorgio Agambens Konzept des “homo sacer”, das die Bedingungen thematisiert, unter denen das Leben biologisch weitergeht während es gleichzeitig unerträglich ist, versucht Darıcıoğlu, dem Raum zu geben, was durch Macht und Whiteness als soziokulturelle Kategorie aus dem öffentlichen Raum gelöscht wird: Die Themen umfassen beispielsweise Gentrifizierung, Migration, Morde an Transgender-Personen, Selbstmorde oder zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen. Der Spannungsbogen reicht von der Geschichte der Minderheiten bis zum Konzept der Heimat.

Während des Stipendienaufenthalts in Berlin wird sich Leman S. Darıcıoğlu mit queerer Verletzlichkeit und der Art und Weise, wie queere Menschen am Leben festhalten, beschäftigen. Ausgehend von Interviews mit in Berlin lebenden queeren Menschen, die Lebensbedrohliches oder Traumatisches erlebt haben, will Darıcıoğlu die Geschichten queerer Menschen ans Licht bringen. Im Mittelpunkt der Interviews stehen folgende Fragen: Wie haben queere Menschen überlebt, wie haben sie sich und ihr Leben nach lebensbedrohlichen Erfahrungen wiederaufgebaut?
Die Geschichten werden auf einer Webseite veröffentlicht. Außerdem werden sie in eine Reihe von neu konzipierten Langzeitperformances Darıcıoğlus einfliessen.

Leman Sevda Darıcıoğlu (*1985) war 2014-2017 Mitglied des Istanbul Queer Art Collective und ist seit 2017 Teil der Performistanbul International Performance Platform. Darıcıoğlus Perfomances und künstlerischen Arbeiten wurden auf Performancefestivals, in Museen und Galerien im In- und Ausland gezeigt, zuletzt im Rahmen der Venice International Performance Art Week 2020, Palazzo Mora, Venice; Future Ritual, Kunstraum, London (2019); Contemporary Istanbul Art Fair (2019) und im Badischen Kunstverein Karlsruhe (2019).
lemandaricioglu.com

Termine:
Samstag-Sonntag, 29.-30. August 2020, OPEN PARK HAUSES, ZK/U Berlin

Das Stipendium der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa wird im Rahmen einer Kooperation zwischen dem Kunstverein neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) und dem ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik in Berlin sowie dem DEPO in Istanbul ermöglicht.

Finanziert von