Künstler_innenstipendium Istanbul-Berlin 2019 Artist-in-Residence Scholarship Istanbul-Berlin

1 January–31 December 2019

Scholarship

Location(s):
ZK/U Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik, KUNSTrePUBLIK e.V., Siemensstr. 27, 10551 Berlin

Artists

Kerem Ozan Bayraktar, Yasemin Özcan

As of 2018, two scholarships will be granted annually to artists who live in Istanbul. The existing Istanbul stipend of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe was expanded to a true exchange, with a jury annually selecting two artists from Istanbul to be sent to Berlin and vice versa. The aim is to further enhance the relations between the partner cities of Berlin and Istanbul as well as the connections to the Turkish art scene. This is done with the conviction that international exchange and direct communication allow cultural diversity be experienced as an enrichment, inviting people to a change in perspective.

January - June 2019
Yasemin Özcan

The artist Yasemin Özcan deals with identity, cultural policies, gender, esotericism and psychology. In her early works since 1990, she has taken an auto-ethnographical approach, analysing personal experiences in order to make cultural circumstances understandable. Özcan uses various media, including photography, video, sound, publications and ceramics.
http://yaseminozcan.art/

July–December 2019
Kerem Ozan Bayraktar

Point of departure for Kerem Ozan Bayraktar’s computer simulations, graphics, videos, texts and other artefacts is his interest in ecological, astronomical and economic systems as well as in the fictitious worlds of literature and popular culture. In addressing the nature of systems he exposes recurrent patterns in industrial processes – in mass production and architectural infrastructures, for example – as well as myths of (un)inhabitable planets. He thereby pursues questions of life and death and their interconnectedness with material and cultural layers, exploring them from a holistic perspective, without distinguishing between human and non-human beings, life and non-life, or the virtual and the real.
In Berlin, Bayraktar intends to continue his research into ruderal species growing wild in the city. Such plants can rapidly adapt to their urban environment and grow wherever there is ›disruption‹, in the ecological sense of the word. Bayraktar shares his notes on weeds, urban sociology and botany on his website www.sokakotlari.com and his Instagram account: @sokak_otlari

Kerem Ozan Bayraktar (*1984) studied painting at the Marmara University in Istanbul and at the University of Newcastle (UK). His work has been shown in solo and group exhibitions, most recently at Sanatorium Istanbul (2018), Schwules Museum Berlin (2017) and Istanbul Modern (2016). In 2016 Bayraktar was awarded a scholarship for a Trélex Art Residency in Trélex, Switzerland.
http://keremozanbayraktar.com/

The scholarship of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe is made possible in the frame of a cooperation between the neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) and the ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik in Berlin as well as DEPO in Istanbul.

Financed by

Künstler_innenstipendium Istanbul-Berlin 2019

1. Januar–31. Dezember 2019

Stipendium

Ort(e):
ZK/U Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik, KUNSTrePUBLIK e.V., Siemensstr. 27, 10551 Berlin

Künstler_innen

Kerem Ozan Bayraktar, Yasemin Özcan

Seit 2018 werden jährlich zwei Stipendien an in Istanbul lebende Künstler_innen vergeben. Das bestehende Istanbul-Stipendium der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa wurde zu einem echten Austausch erweitert, indem jährlich zwei Künstler_innen aus Istanbul von einer Jury ausgewählt und nach Berlin entsandt werden und umgekehrt. Damit sollen die Beziehungen zwischen den Partnerstädten Berlin und Istanbul und die Verbindung zur türkischen Kunstszene weiter gestärkt werden. Dies folgt der Überzeugung, dass internationaler Austausch und unmittelbare Kommunikation kulturelle Vielfalt als Bereicherung erlebbar werden lassen und zum Perspektivenwechsel einladen.

Januar - Juni 2019
Yasemin Özcan

Die Künstlerin Yasemin Özcan beschäftigt sich mit Identität, Kulturpolitik, Gender, Esoterik und Psychologie. In ihren frühen Arbeiten seit 1990 arbeitet sie mit einem autoethnografischen Ansatz: sie analysiert persönliche Erfahrungen um kulturelle Gegebenheiten verstehbar zu machen. Özcan nutzt verschiedene Medien, darunter Fotografie, Video, Sound, Publikationen und Keramik.
yaseminozcan.art/

Juli - Dezember 2019
Kerem Ozan Bayraktar

Ausgangspunkt für die Computersimulationen, Grafiken, Videos, Texte und Objekte von Kerem Ozan Bayraktar ist sein Interesse an ökologischen, astronomischen und ökonomischen Systemen, aber auch an fiktiven Welten aus Literatur und Populärkultur. In seiner Auseinandersetzung mit der Natur von Systemen legt er immer wiederkehrende Muster in industriellen Prozessen frei – wie z.B. in der Massenproduktion, in der Infrastruktur von Gebäuden, aber auch in den Mythen um (un)bewohnbare Planeten. Dabei geht er grundlegenden Fragen von Leben und Tod und deren Verflechtung mit materiellen und kulturellen Schichten nach und behandelt sie mit einer ganzheitlichen Perspektive, ohne zwischen Mensch und dem Nichtmenschlichen, Leben und Nicht-Leben oder Virtuell und Real zu unterscheiden.
In Berlin möchte Bayraktar seine künstlerischen Forschungen zu Ruderalpflanzen, die spontan in der Stadt wachsen, fortsetzen. Diese Pflanzen können sich schnell an ihren urbanen Lebensraum anpassen und wachsen an Orten, an denen es ›Störungen‹ im ökologischen Sinne gibt. Auf seiner Webseite www.sokakotlari.com und seinem Instagram-Account (@sokak_otlari) teilt Bayraktar seine Notizen über Unkraut, Stadtökologie und Botanik.

Kerem Ozan Bayraktar (*1984) studierte Malerei an der Marmara Universität in Istanbul sowie an der Newcastle University (GB). Seine Arbeiten waren in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen zu sehen, zuletzt in Sanatorium Istanbul (2018), Schwules Museum Berlin (2017) und Istanbul Modern (2016). 2016 war Bayraktar Stipendiat der Trélex Art Residency in Trélex, Schweiz (2016).
keremozanbayraktar.com/

Das Stipendium der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa wird im Rahmen einer Kooperation zwischen dem Kunstverein neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) und dem ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik in Berlin sowie dem DEPO in Istanbul ermöglicht.

Finanziert von