LUCKY

7 July–2 September 2018
Opening: 6 July 2018

Exhibition
Event Series

Location(s): nGbK, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin

Media partner COVEN BERLIN: www.covenberlin.com

Artists

Travis Alabanza, nicola awang, Plural Authorship Collective, Zinzi Buchanan und Trev Flash, Giegold & Weiß, GeoVanna Gonzalez, Ok-Hee Jeong, Angela Kaisers, Laura G. Jones und Alexander Linton, Anarel·la Martínez-Madrid, Zwoisy Mears-Clarke, Nasheeka Nedsreal, Ileana Pascalau, Tabita Rezaire, Vagittarius Rising, Anaïs Senli, Coral Short, Eve Tagny, Xenia Taniko, Anna Uddenberg, Cathy Walsh, Kandis Williams, Melanie Jame Wolf, Ming Wong, Miriam Yammad, Roni Katz und Anna Zett, Inga Zimprich/Feministische Gesundheitsrecherchegruppe

Participants

Tanja Abou, Anne Potjans, Ruby Sircar, Jo Verrent, Maya Weinberg

Project group COVEN BERLIN

Harley Aussoleil, Frances Breden, Shelly Etkin, Lorena Juan, Judy Landkammer, Kiona Hagen Niehaus, Esther Roman, Louise Trueheart

Everything in life is luck, or so we’ve heard. If you work hard, you will succeed—you just need to wait for your big break and play your cards right. Success once realized is often passed off as lucky coincidence. But what if you can’t even get a seat at the casino table?

These narratives of fortune actively render historical and structural oppression invisible in physical, digital, and spiritual spaces. LUCKY questions the role of luck as a cultural myth that explains and normalizes privilege. We propose to examine the ways this dulls movements of resistance and maintains the status quo, while still honoring in luck the practices of self preservation and play.

With a focus on queer and feminist practices, the project is composed of an exhibition, performances, panels, and workshops playing with and challenging this lottery that permeates what is already inscribed onto our bodies, our neighborhoods, and our browser histories.

Events:

Friday, 6 July 2018, 19h
Opening of the exhibition with Performances
Ongoing 19- 22h
, In the stairwell
Anarel·la Martínez-Madrid: PLAY ME: a one-on-one performance about sex and consent (EN)
Anarel·la Martínez-Madrid invites one participant at a time to practice consent in spontaneous and secured guided scenarios in a space of unfamiliarity. Using her background in sex education, Martínez-Madrid seeks to create a temporary environment where power can be exchanged, sex toys can be touched and played with, and questions around privilege and sex positivity can abound.
21h, nGbK event space, 1st floor
Laura G. Jones & Alexander Linton: Babypunk ft. Babuyoka (EN)
Together Laura G. Jones and Alexander Linton collaborate to explore crip—a reclaimatory term for the chronically ill—as it meets queerness, afro/crip futurism, and a shared love of hip hop. Composed of music, dance, noise, and spiritual ritual, Babypunk ft. Babuyoka is an explosive and experimental synthesis of sterile medical textures with softer textures of care. While addressing the shame inscribed onto medicalized sick bodies and their various fluids, the performers/creatures express their need for visibility as complex crip others.
22h, In the Courtyard
Zinzi Buchanan & Trev Flash: future babies (EN)
A concert-style, semi-conscious delivery of shared fears of—and hopes for—the future: a frantic, euphoric expression of utopian vision. Crash and doom.
This performance explores the notion of ‘being born lucky‘ in tandem with the dream of conception and progeny. Giving birth to hot emotions as both lovers and collaborators, Zinzi and Trev have a strong interest in exploring feelings around parenthood and the future together.

Saturday, 21 July 2018
17.30h
Guided Tour
(DE)
19h
Panel Discussion “Hart daran arbeiten, Glück zu haben?”
(DE)
With Tanja Abou, Ruby Sircar, and Jasper Anne Potjans
This discussion explores the relationship of luck to labor, class, and the capitalist system through the lens of feminism. Hard work might lead to success, but the expectations and valuation of one’s labor are often dependent on the assumptions that are ascribed to one’s physical and social body. Work is moralized so as to categorize people as ‘deserving’ and ‘undeserving’ of resources through their conformity to social norms. The labor of domestic, ‘unskilled’, activist, artist, migrant, and care work is rarely acknowledged as such, especially when it is unpaid or underpaid. As much as we can dream of getting lucky, it is nearly impossible to do so without disposable income and a seat at the table. We bring together multidisciplinary speakers to explore how we play the game.

Friday-Sunday, 27-29 July 2018
Performance Festival Weekend »LUCKY YOU«

Fri, 20h
Melanie Jame Wolf: An Act of Improbable Genius (EN)
The artist interrogates ‘The Myth of Genius‘, which insists that one is either touched by genius, or not. This good fortune, however, has consistently favored those rich, male, and white.
An Act of Improbable Genius is a performance and video event which seeks to destabilise, and re-inscribe die-hard myths about genius and possibility by underscoring the complex, privileged conditions requisite for genius to emerge. It is a performance that aims to understand how these myths infect people’s estimations of probability, and their own likelihood to pursue things—art, the world—differently.
Ok-Hee Jeong: Fünfmal Frau Kim, auf der Suche nach Heimat (DE)
Centered around South Korean migration to Germany, Jeong’s performance investigates the meaning of being a ‘foreigner’ when examining different generations of immigration, including the so-called “1.5 generation” who split their adolescence between two countries. A performance critical of the ‘luck’ of passing as native to one’s country, Five Times Ms. Kim, Looking for Home dissects the violent ‘blood and soil’ rhetoric of the homeland.

Sat, 20h
Xenia Taniko: Mesh & Wire (EN)
Dramaturgical Assistance: Maya Weinberg
“Mesh & Wire” is occupied with the slippery edges of physical embodiment. It is the process of a body dismembered, a body with many members, spread across the room, evading its own contours. If the body is something larger than its parts, where does it begin and where does it end? Where does a body draw power from? What are its assets?
In this performance, Xenia Taniko orchestrates the singular body as an intricate network of textures and relations, affect and effect, power play and interdependence. Mesh & Wire is the first installment of an ongoing body of work that investigates the prosthetic nature of the body, questioning monolithic concepts of subjectivity and order.
Nasheeka Nedsreal: Working the Root (EN)
Did you step on a crack? Did someone sweep across your foot with a broom? Did you leave your purse on the ground, or your hat on the bed? Are ladders, mirrors, or black cats involved?
In “Working the Root”, Nasheeka Nedsreal explores the traditions that followed Black people across the Atlantic to the USA and that remain embedded in superstitions, beliefs, values, and culture. Is luck the fundamental expression of unpredictability or uncertainty? Is it out of our control? Nedsreal follows the role of the divine, and whether it has left the universe to its own cause and effect—or the chance to manifest one’s own fortune.

Sun, 12-19h
12-19h
Roni Katz, in collaboration with Anna Zett: Between Us (EN)
Investigating intimacy and public space in relation to community building and self care, Roni Katz, Anna Zett, and a group of performers build a stage from a sofa for conversation to transpire, asking how we can both listen and share. This performance begins by entangling what is between luck and privilege, investigating what happens between interlocutors and between spaces public and private.
Between Us is a format that aims to tackle the relations of what is talked about: how, where, and with whom. The audience is invited to step in, listen, speak up, and leave when the time is right.
Performers: Johanna Ackva, Casey Detrow, Giorgio Gago Gagoshidze, Julia Gladstone, Ria Hylton, Roni Katz, Nomaduma Masilela, Jos McKain, Sophia New, Omar Nicolas, Steve Paul Steven Paul, Maayan Strauss, Xenia Taniko, Louise Trueheart, Nikhil Vettukattil, Siegmar Zacharias, Anna Zett
16.30-18h
Zwoisy Mears-Clarke: How to Greet Like a Jamaican: Step 2 (EN/DE)
‘Who do I get to serve today?’
In a performance between host and guest, Zwoisy Mears-Clarke prepares and extends an invitation to a dinner of traditional Jamaican cuisine from his motherland. From how the table is set to the choice of conversation for the evening, the host attempts to gather the respective history of ‘hospitality’ carried within him and his guests, and what it means to them today.
To this end, the work concerns itself with tracing colonial European skills forcefully passed down from the hands of British white masters to the backs, hands, and legs of enslaved people—a genealogy leading to Mears-Clarke’s parents, and finally to the artist himself. Lucky is the guest invited to taste a culinary practice passed down through a colonial history of violence, laying bare on the table the ambivalent nature of hospitality and service.

Saturday, 4 August 2018
17.30h
Guided Tour
(EN)
19h, nGbK Courtyard
Panel Discussion “Thank You for Seeing Me” (EN)
With Lorena Juan and Jo Verrent
This discussion will be an opportunity to reflect on the ‘luck’ of being represented and how representation is too often conflated with justice. Departing from the belief that feminism is a collective non-alignment composed of multiple perspectives, but with a shared awareness of oppressive and exclusive feminist canons, this is an invitation to explore how these feminisms are applied to curation and how they guide questions of representation and visibility.

Saturday, 18 August 2018, 20h
»Fortune Unfolded« Short Film Screenings curated by Coral Short

Coral Short deconstructs privilege within the genre of film. Videomakers decipher the notion of luck as privilege within our white cis supremacist society. This is unpacked through landscapes, ideas of heteronormative “beauty”, as well as signs and signifiers for luxury. Anti- authoritative aesthetic strategies are implemented to question the often unquestioned status quo. In this brand new program full of world premieres, playful political performance art unravels ideas, and film artists infuse old medias with intention to speak in new visual languages. From covering colonial statues with piss, to performance princesses, a wide range of different focuses emerge and visually unfold.
With films by: Claire Arctander, Divide and Dissolve, Sabella D’Souza, Daniel Embree, Shon Faye, Gwendolyn Audrey Foster, B.B. Gunn, Winston Hacking, Virginia Joseph, Yasmeen Nematt Alla, Nowmomentnow, Tami T, Erodium Thunk, John Walsh (TBC)

Saturday, 25 August 2018, 12-18h
“My Worst Performance Ever” Queer Performance Workshop with Natalie Igor Dobkin
(EN)
“My Worst Performance Ever” is a queer performance workshop that investigates the boundaries between professionalism and amateurism, entertainment and art, and the queer body in heteronormative spaces. In resistance to the call for professionalism, Natalie Igor Dobkin proposes amateurism as a strategy and practice with which to fight capitalism. The workshop incorporates drag, high-school dance parties, songs on demand, talent shows, reality television, and more.
Previous experience in performance art not required. Capacity limited to 20 participants: register via email to nataliedobkin@gmail.com

Saturday, 1 September 2018, 19h
Finissage with Performances

Cathy Walsh: Game Show (EN)
In this immersive performative installation that mimics US television game shows popularized in the 1950s, Cathy Walsh leads a fair game won by strategy—or luck?
There will be prizes, distractions, concessions, buy-outs, go-for-brokes, and phone-a-friends. Game Show creates an arena to play one’s chances and gamble with the body one has created or been given, asking the participant: “Do you feel lucky?”
Vagittarius Rising: Karma vs Kapital (EN)
Against the didactic and the mansplainers, Vagittarius Rising operates from a fake band methodology: a practice that eschews the precious and official in favor of the quick and dirty, the unplanned, and all the freedom and vulnerability that lies in this format for performance and practice.
Meditating on glacially large notions like karma and capital, this fake band does not claim to thoroughly comprehend nor speak on behalf of these frameworks. Rather, Karma vs Kapital explores how different understandings of deed, intention, and unfolding futures are informed by socioeconomic and spiritual world-views.
Travis Alabanza: The Obituary for the Not-So-Lucky (EN)
In their Obituary, Travis Alabanza eulogizes those that didn’t make the cut. In this notice of death, we are invited to remember those that could not quite get up the ladder because ‘luck’ was simply not on their side. As the dead rest among us uneasily, the audience is invited to continue in the festivities and forget that anyone ever had a hand in their demise.

Media partner

LUCKY

7. Juli–2. September 2018
Eröffnung: 6. Juli 2018

Ausstellung
Veranstaltungsreihe

Ort(e): nGbK, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin

Medienpartner_in COVEN BERLIN: www.covenberlin.com

Künstler_innen

Travis Alabanza, nicola awang, Plural Authorship Collective, Zinzi Buchanan und Trev Flash, Giegold & Weiß, GeoVanna Gonzalez, Ok-Hee Jeong, Angela Kaisers, Laura G. Jones und Alexander Linton, Anarel·la Martínez-Madrid, Zwoisy Mears-Clarke, Nasheeka Nedsreal, Ileana Pascalau, Tabita Rezaire, Vagittarius Rising, Anaïs Senli, Coral Short, Eve Tagny, Xenia Taniko, Anna Uddenberg, Cathy Walsh, Kandis Williams, Melanie Jame Wolf, Ming Wong, Miriam Yammad, Roni Katz und Anna Zett, Inga Zimprich/Feministische Gesundheitsrecherchegruppe

Teilnehmer_innen

Tanja Abou, Anne Potjans, Ruby Sircar, Jo Verrent, Maya Weinberg

Arbeitsgruppe COVEN BERLIN

Harley Aussoleil, Frances Breden, Shelly Etkin, Lorena Juan, Judy Landkammer, Kiona Hagen Niehaus, Esther Roman, Louise Trueheart

Wir haben gehört, alles im Leben ist eine Frage des Glücks. Wer hart arbeitet, wird erfolgreich – man muss nur auf den großen Durchbruch warten und die Karten gut spielen. Ist der Erfolg dann einmal eingetreten, wird er gern als glücklicher Zufall abgetan. Aber was ist, wenn man noch nicht einmal Zugang zum Kasino hat?

Diese Erzählungen vom Glück machen historische und strukturelle Unterdrückung in physischen, digitalen und spirituellen Räumen unsichtbar. LUCKY hinterfragt die Rolle von Glück als kulturellem Mythos, der gesellschaftliche Privilegien erklärt und normalisiert. Wir wollen untersuchen, wie dieser Mythos Widerstandsbewegungen schwächt und den Status quo erhält. Zugleich erkennen wir auch die Praktiken des Selbsterhalts und des Spielens im Glück an.

Das Projekt legt den Fokus auf queere und feministische Praktiken und setzt sich aus einer Ausstellung, aus Performances, Podiumsgesprächen und Workshops zusammen. Sie bespielen und bezweifeln diese Lotterie, die durchdringt, was bereits in unsere Körper, unsere Nachbarschaften und unsere Browser-Chronik eingeschrieben ist.

Veranstaltungen:

Freitag, 6. Juli 2018, 19 Uhr
Eröffnung der Ausstellung mit Performances
Fortlaufend 19-22 Uhr
, Im Treppenhaus
Anarel·la Martínez-Madrid: PLAY ME: Eine Performance über Sex und Konsens(EN)
Anarel·la Martínez-Madrid lädt die Teilnehmer_innen einzeln dazu ein, in spontanen und sicheren, angeleiteten Szenarien in ungewohnter Umgebung Konsens zu üben. Mit einem Erfahrungshintergrund in der sexuellen Bildungsarbeit geht es Martínez-Madrid darum, eine zeitweilige Umgebung zu schaffen, in der Macht getauscht und mit Sexspielzeug gespielt werden kann. Hier kann es reichlich Fragen rund um Privilegien und Sex-Positivität geben.
21 Uhr, nGbK-Veranstaltungsraum, 1. OG
Laura G. Jones & Alexander Linton: Babypunk ft. Babuyoka(EN)
Laura G. Jones und Alexander Linton lieben Hiphop. Nun haben sie sich zusammengetan, um die emanzipative Wiederaneignung von BeHinderung – wie sie im Englischen anhand des Begriffs „crip“ (abwertend dt. „Krüppel“) stattfindet – in ihrer Begegnung mit queeren und afrofuturistischen Ansätzen zu erkunden.
Babypunk ft. Babuyoka setzt sich aus Musik, Tanz, Lärm und spirituellem Ritual zusammen. Es entsteht eine experimentelle Synthese aus sterilen medizinischen Geweben mit weicheren Texturen der Fürsorge. Die Darsteller_innen/Kreaturen sprechen zwar die Scham an, die in medikalisierte, kranke Körper und ihre Flüssigkeiten eingeschrieben ist, bringen aber ihr Bedürfnis nach Sichtbarkeit als komplexe Crip-Andere zum Ausdruck.
22 Uhr, Im Hof
Zinzi Buchanan & Trev Flash: future babies(EN)
Eine konzertartige, halb-bewusste Überlieferung gemeinsamer Ängste um – und Hoffnungen für die Zukunft: ein fieberhafter, euphorischer Ausdruck einer utopischen Vision. Absturz und Verhängnis.
Diese Performance erkundet die Vorstellung vom ‚Glück, dass in die Wiege gelegt wurde‘ im Tandem mit dem Traum von der Empfängnis und Nachkommenschaft. In Liebe und Zusammenarbeit gebären Zinzi und Trev heiße Emotionen und erkunden neugierig Gefühle rund um Elternschaft und die gemeinsame Zukunft.

Samstag, 21. Juli 2018
17.30 Uhr
Führung (DE)
19 Uhr
Podiumsdiskussion “Hart daran arbeiten, Glück zu haben?”
(DE)
Mit Tanja Abou, Ruby Sircar, und Anne Potjans
Dieses Gespräch schaut auf das Verhältnis des Glücks zu Arbeit, Klasse und kapitalistischem System durch eine feministische Brille. Harte Arbeit kann zu Erfolg führen, aber die Erwartungen und Bewertungen von Arbeit hängen oft von den Vorannahmen ab, die dem jeweiligen physischen und sozialen Körper zugeschrieben werden. Arbeit wird moralisiert, um Menschen einzuteilen, in die, die Ressourcen ‚verdienen‘ oder ‚nicht verdienen‘– abhängig von ihrer Konformität bezüglich gesellschaftlicher Normen. Heimarbeit, ‚ungelernte‘ Arbeit, aktivistisches Engagement, Pflege und Sorgearbeit sowie die Arbeit von Künstler_innen oder Migrant_innen erhält selten Anerkennung als Arbeit, insbesondere, wenn sie unbezahlt oder unterbezahlt ist. So sehr wir davon träumen können, Glück zu haben, ist dies fast unmöglich ohne verfügbares Einkommen oder Mitspracherecht. Auf dem Podium diskutieren multidisziplinäre Redner_innen diese Spielregeln.

Freitag-Sonntag, 27.-29. Juli 2018
Performance Festival Weekend »LUCKY YOU«

Fr, 20 Uhr
Melanie Jame Wolf: An Act of Improbable Genius(EN)
Das Werk untersucht künstlerisch den Mythos des ‚Genies‘, der darauf beharrt, dass Menschen entweder genial sind oder nicht. Dieses Glück hat jedoch durchweg jene bevorzugt, die reich, männlich und weiß sind.
Die Performance und Videoveranstaltung “An Act of Improbable Genius” will die beharrlichen Mythen über Genialität und Möglichkeiten destabilisieren und neuschreiben, indem die komplexen privilegierten Bedingungen betont werden, die erforderlich sind, damit Genie ‚zutage tritt‘. Ziel ist es, zu verstehen, wie diese Mythen die Erwartungen von Menschen befallen; und damit die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass sie Dingen – wie der Kunst oder der Welt – anders nachgehen.
Ok-Hee Jeong: Fünfmal Frau Kim, auf der Suche nach Heimat(DE)
Ok-Hee Jeongs performative Lesung dreht sich um südkoreanische Migration nach Deutschland. Der Begriff ‚Ausländer‘ wird anhand verschiedener Generationen der Einwanderung untersucht - einschließlich der ‚1,5-Generation‘, die ihre Jugend zwischen beiden Ländern aufteilt. “Fünfmal Frau Kim, auf der Suche nach Heimat” setzt sich kritisch mit dem ‚Glück‘ auseinander, als zugehörig zum eigenen Land durchzugehen (engl. passing) und nimmt die gewaltvolle ‚Blut und Boden‘-Rhetorik dieses Heimatlandes auseinander.

Sa, 20 Uhr
Xenia Taniko: Mesh & Wire(EN)
Dramaturgische Assistenz: Maya Weinberg
“Mesh & Wire” befasst sich mit den glitschigen Kanten physischer Verkörperung — mit dem Prozess eines zergliederten Körpers, eines Körpers mit vielen Gliedmaßen, im Raum verteilt, sich seinen eigenen Konturen entziehend. Wenn der Körper etwas Größeres ist als seine Teile, wo fängt er an und wo hört er auf? Woher nimmt ein Körper seine Macht? Was ist sein Kapital? In dieser Performance inszeniert Xenia Taniko den einzelnen Körper als ein Netzwerk aus Texturen und Beziehungen, Affekt und Effekt, Machtspiel und Interdependenzen. Mesh & Wire ist die erste Aufführung in einer weiterführenden Auseinandersetzung mit der prothetischen Beschaffenheit des Körpers, in der starre Konzepte von Subjektivität und Ordnung hinterfragt werden.
Nasheeka Nedsreal: Working the Root(EN)
Bist du auf einen Spalt getreten? Ist jemand mit einem Besen über deinen Fuß gefegt? Hast du dein Portemonnaie auf dem Boden oder deinen Hut auf dem Bett liegen lassen? Sind Leitern, Spiegel oder schwarze Katzen beteiligt?
In “Working the Root” erkundet Nasheeka Nedsreal die Traditionen, die Schwarzen Menschen über den Atlantik in die USA gefolgt sind und in ihren Aberglauben, Überzeugungen, Werten und Kulturen eingebettet bleiben. Ist Glück ein grundlegender Ausdruck von Unvorhersehbarkeit oder Unschärfe? Liegt es außerhalb unserer Kontrolle? Nedsreal folgt der Rolle des Göttlichen und der Frage, ob es das Universum seinen eigenen Ursachen und Wirkungen überlassen hat – oder der Chance, die eigene Zukunft zu manifestieren.

So, 12-19 Uhr
12-19 Uhr
Roni Katz in Kollaboration mit Anna Zett: Between Us(EN)
Roni Katz, Anna Zett und eine Gruppe von Performer_innen untersuchen Intimität und öffentlichen Raum im Verhältnis zu Gemeinschaftsbildung und Selbstsorge. Die Bühne ist ein Sofa, das zum Gespräch einlädt – zur Frage, wie wir sowohl zuhören als auch miteinander sprechen können. Die Performance verwebt zunächst, wie Glück und Privilegien zueinander stehen und untersucht dann, was zwischen Gesprächspartner_innen und zwischen öffentlichen und privaten Räumen geschieht.
“Between Us” ist ein Format , das die Verhältnisse innerhalb des Gesprochenen packen will, worüber gesprochen wird: wie, wo und mit wem. Das Publikum ist eingeladen, einzusteigen, zuzuhören, mitzureden und im richtigen Moment wieder zu gehen.
Performer_innen: Johanna Ackva, Casey Detrow, Giorgio Gago Gagoshidze, Julia Gladstone, Ria Hylton, Roni Katz, Nomaduma Masilela, Jos McKain, Sophia New, Omar Nicolas, Steve Paul Steven Paul, Maayan Strauss, Xenia Taniko, Louise Trueheart, Nikhil Vettukattil, Siegmar Zacharias, Anna Zett
16.30-18 Uhr
Zwoisy Mears-Clarke: How to Greet Like a Jamaican: Step 2 EN/DE)
„Who do I get to serve today?“
In einer Performance zwischen Gastgeber und Gästen bereitet Zwoisy Mears-Clarke ein Abendessen traditioneller jamaikanischer Küche aus seinem Mutterland zu und lädt dazu ein. Von der Art des Tischdeckens bis zur Wahl der Gesprächsthemen für den Abend versucht der Gastgeber Geschichten der ‚Gastfreundschaft‘, die er und sein Gast jeweils in sich tragen, zu versammeln und ihre heutige Bedeutung zu erkunden.
So spürt das Werk kolonialen europäischen Fähigkeiten nach, die die weißen britischen Herrenmenschen den Rücken, Händen und Beinen versklavter Menschen aufzwangen – eine Genealogie, die zu Mears-Clarkes Eltern und schließlich zum Künstler selbst führt. Was für ein Glück für den eingeladenen Gast, eine kulinarische Praxis kosten zu dürfen, die durch eine koloniale Geschichte der Gewalt hindurch weitergereicht wurde. Die ambivalente Konsistenz von Gastfreundschaft und Bedienung wird hier auf der bloßen Tischplatte seziert.

Samstag, 4. August 2018
17.30 Uhr
Führung
(EN)
19 Uhr, Im Hof
Podiumsdiskussion “Thank You for Seeing Me” (EN)
Mit Lorena Juan und Jo Verrent
Die Diskussion bietet Gelegenheit zum Nachdenken über das Glück der Repräsentation und darüber, wie Repräsentation häufig mit Gerechtigkeit verschmolzen ist. Basis der Diskussion ist die Überzeugung, dass Feminismus eine kollektive Nicht-Anpassung ist, die sich aus multiplen Perspektiven mit Bewusstsein für unterdrückende und ausschließende feministische Grundsätze zusammensetzt. Gemeinsam soll erkundet werden, wie diese Feminismen beim Kuratieren angewandt werden und wie sie Fragen der Repräsentation und Sichtbarkeit leiten.

Samstag, 18. August 2018, 20 Uhr
“Fortune Unfolded” Kurzfilmreihe kuratiert von Coral Short

Seit fast zehn Jahren zeigt die Kuratorin und Film-Archivarin Coral Short unabhängige feministische Filmreihen. Für LUCKY präsentiert sie eine Kurzfilmreihe, die sich mit konstitutivem Glück, Privilegien und magischen Territorien der Möglichkeit befassen. In diesem Programm voller Weltpremieren reichen die Themen von mit Pisse bedeckten Kolonialstatuen bis hin zu Performance-Prinzessinnen, die eine neue Bildsprache entfalten.
Mit Filmen von: Claire Arctander, Divide and Dissolve, Sabella D’Souza, Daniel Embree, Shon Faye, Gwendolyn Audrey Foster, B.B. Gunn, Winston Hacking, Virginia Joseph, Yasmeen Nematt Alla, Nowmomentnow, Tami T, Erodium Thunk, John Walsh (TBC)

Samstag, 25. August 2018, 12-18 Uhr
Queer Performance Workshop “My Worst Performance Ever” mit Natalie Igor Dobkin
(EN)
My Worst Performance Ever ist ein queerer Performance-Workshop, der die Grenzen zwischen Professionalismus und Amateurismus, Unterhaltung und Kunst sowie den queeren Körper in heteronormativen Räumen erkundet. Entgegen dem Ruf nach Professionalität schlägt Natalie Igor Dobkin Amateurismus als eine Strategie und Praxis vor, um den Kapitalismus zu bekämpfen. Der Workshop umfasst Drag, Schul-Tanzparties, Wunschhits, Talentshows, Reality-TV und mehr.
Keine Vorkenntnisse in der Performance-Kunst erforderlich. Maximal 20 Teilnehmer_innen, Anmeldung erforderlich per E-mail an nataliedobkin@gmail.com

Samstag, 1. September 2018, 19 Uhr
Finissage mit Performances

Cathy Walsh: Game Show (EN)
Diese eindringliche performative Installation ahmt Spielesendungen aus dem US-amerikanischen Fernsehen der 1950er Jahre nach. Darin leitet Cathy Walsh ein faires Spiel, das durch Strategie – oder durch Glück? – zu gewinnen ist.
Es gibt Preise, Ablenkungen und Zugeständnisse. Man kann sich rauskaufen, alles auf eine Karte setzen und einen Telefonjoker anrufen. Game Show schafft eine Arena, um das Glück zu versuchen und den Körper einzusetzen, den man geschaffen oder erhalten hat. Den Teilnehmer_innen stellt sich die Frage: „Glaubst du, du hast Glück?“
Vagittarius Rising: Karma vs Kapital (EN)
Vagittarius Rising agiert gegen die Didakten und Erklärer mithilfe der Methodologie der Fake Band: eine Praxis, die das Wertvolle und Offizielle zugunsten des Schnellen und Dreckigen, des Ungeplanten, bevorzugt – mit all der Freiheit und Verletzlichkeit, die in diesem Format der Performance und Praxis liegt.
Diese Fake Band meditiert über sedimentierte und riesige Konzepte wie Karma und Kapital – und beansprucht dabei nicht, sie gründlich zu verstehen oder für sie zu sprechen. Vielmehr erkundet Karma vs. Kapital, wie verschiedene Verständnisse von Taten, Absichten und sich entfaltenden Zukünften von sozioökonomischen und spirituellen Weltbildern geprägt sind.
Travis Alabanza: The Obituary for the Not-So-Lucky (EN)
In diesem Nachruf preist Travis Alabanza all jene, die es nicht geschafft haben. Diese Todesanzeige fordert uns dazu auf, all jener zu gedenken, die die Leiter nicht erklimmen konnten, weil das ‚Glück‘ einfach nicht auf ihrer Seite war. Da die Toten unruhig unter uns weilen, wird das Publikum eingeladen, weiter zu feiern und zu vergessen, dass in ihrem Niedergang noch eine andere Hand im Spiel war.

Medienpartner_innen