Der Blinde Fleck The blind spot

13 September–19 October 2008
Opening: 12 September 2008

Exhibition
Publication
Event Series

Location(s): NGBK, Oranienstraße 25

Artists

Nina Fischer / Maroan el Sani, Hörner & Antlfinger, Mathias Jud / Christoph Wachter, Jin Lie, Ilka Meyer, Kriss Salmanis / Daiga Kruze, Albrecht Schäfer, Richard Schütz, Hito Steyerl, Sarah Vanagt, Klaus Weber

Project group RealismusStudio

Lith Bahlmann, Anke Hoffmann, Christin Lahr, Mara Traumane, Frank Wagner, Susanne Weiß

The exhibition title The blind spot, which in the literal sense describes a purely optical phenomenon, serves in these investigations as a metaphorical vehicle that allows us to associatively sound out the mechanisms and meanings of forgetting, selective disremembering, and memory repression, in individuals as well as in sociopolitical living contexts. Assembled here are contemporary positions by artists who exemplarily approach this theme’s philosophical, socio-political, and individual psychological dimensions in their investigations, research, and critical examinations.

Current debates about the politics of memory and remembrance include aspects of memory repression and forgetting, since remembering and forgetting form a dialectic pair; these are two sides of one and the same coin. Pursued within the context of this exhibition are questions about how society deals with collective traumas, about the significance of selective memory in societal systems, and about the methods and recollection practices of individuals and the identity constructions associated with this.
The exhibition shall also reflect on such things as how human memory functions biologically, and why forgetting is more often considered a negative characteristic. One of the central issues examined is that of artificially created collective amnesia, a topic that pertains not only to events of the communist era in former Eastern Bloc countries.

In addition to a systematic introduction by curators Lith Bahlmann and Anke Hoffmann, the catalogue, which bears the same name as the exhibition, contains extensive text and pictorial material about the artistic works presented, complemented with essays by Culture Historian Max Glauner, Latvian Art Theorist Mara Traumane, Doctor and Literary Scholar Yvonne Wübben, and Film Scientist Matthias Wittmann.
ISBN: 978-3-938515-20-4, dt./engl.

Program of events acompanying the exhibition:

12 September 2008 - Exhibition opening, 7 p.m.
This will be followed by the performance Spectrosphere by/with Clausthome & Martins Ratniks (LV)
11 p.m. in the ‘West Germany’ (Neues Kreuzberger Zentrum)

25 September 2008
6 p.m. Guided tour through the exhibition, and artists’ talk with Matthias Jud and Christoph Wachter
8 p.m. Film and video program with works by Anri Sala, Astrid Nippoldt, Deimantas Narkevicius, Sarah Vanagt, Liu We, and others

9 October 2008
6 p.m. Guided tour through the exhibition, and artists’ talk with Ute Hörner and Matthias Antlfinger
8 p.m. Performative lecture on the project CORPORA DORMIUNT VIGILANT ANIMAE (work in progress) by Martin Conrads and Erik Bünger

19 October 2008 - Finissage
6.30 p.m. La Jetée by Chris Marker, film presentation with reading of philosophical, literary, and art his-torical text excerpts on the topic of forgetting, selected and presented by Oliver Baurhenn, and others

Supported by

Der Blinde Fleck

13. September–19. Oktober 2008
Eröffnung: 12. September 2008

Ausstellung
Publikation
Veranstaltungsreihe

Ort(e): NGBK, Oranienstraße 25

Künstler_innen

Nina Fischer / Maroan el Sani, Hörner & Antlfinger, Mathias Jud / Christoph Wachter, Jin Lie, Ilka Meyer, Kriss Salmanis / Daiga Kruze, Albrecht Schäfer, Richard Schütz, Hito Steyerl, Sarah Vanagt, Klaus Weber

Arbeitsgruppe RealismusStudio

Lith Bahlmann, Anke Hoffmann, Christin Lahr, Mara Traumane, Frank Wagner, Susanne Weiß

Der Ausstellungstitel “Der Blinde Fleck”, der im eigentlichen Sinne ein rein optisches Phänomen beschreibt, diente bei den Recherchen als metaphorisches Vehikel, um die Mechanismen und Bedeutungen des Vergessens, der Ausblendung und des Verdrängens in individuellen, sowie in gesellschaftspolitischen Lebenszusammenhängen assoziativ ausloten zu können. Versammelt sind zeitgenössische Positionen von Künstlern und Künstlerinnen, die sich in ihrer Recherche, Forschung und kritischen Auseinandersetzung exemplarisch den philosophischen, gesell-schaftspolitischen und individualpsychologischen Dimensionen dieses Themas nähern.

Aktuelle Debatten um Erinnerungs- und Gedächtnispolitik schließen Aspekte von Verdrängung und Vergessen ein, denn Erinnern und Vergessen bilden ein dialektisches Paar; es handelt sich um zwei Seiten ein und derselben Medaille. Fragen nach dem gesellschaftlichen Umgang mit kollektiven Traumata und der Bedeutung von Ausblendungen in gesellschaftlichen Systemen, soll im Kontext der Ausstellung ebenso nachgegangen werden, wie den Methoden und Erinnerungspraxen des Einzelnen und der damit verbundenen Identitätskonstruktion.
Reflektiert wird hierbei auch, wie etwa das menschliche Gedächtnis biologisch funktioniert oder warum dem Vergessen oft eher negative Eigenschaften zugeschrieben werden. Eine der zentralen Fragestellungen beschäftigt sich mit künstlich erzeugten kollektiven Amnesien, die jedoch nicht nur die Geschehnisse in der kommunistischen Ära der ehemaligen Ostblock-Länder betreffen.

Der gleichnamige Katalog zur Ausstellung enthält neben einer thematischen Einführung der Kuratorinnen Lith Bahlmann und Anke Hoffmann, umfangreiches Text- und Bildmaterial zu den präsentierten künstlerischen Arbeiten, ergänzt durch Essays des Kulturhistorikers Max Glauner, der lettischen Kunstwissenschaftlerin Mara Traumane, der Medizinerin und Literaturwissenschaftlerin Yvonne Wübben und des Filmwissenschaftlers Matthias Wittmann.
ISBN: 978-3-938515-20-4, dt./engl.

Veranstaltungsprogramm:

12. September 2008 - Eröffnung der Ausstellung, 19 Uhr
anschliessend Performance Spectrosphere von/mit Clausthome & Martins Ratniks (LV)
23.00 Uhr im West Germany (Neues Kreuzberger Zentrum)

25. September 2008
18.00 Führung durch die Ausstellung und Künstlergespräch mit Matthias Jud und Christoph Wachter
20.00 Uhr Film und Videoprogramm mit Arbeiten von Anri Sala, Astrid Nippoldt, Deimantas Narkevicius, Sarah Vanagt, Liu Wei u.a.

9. Oktober 2008
18.00 Uhr: Führung durch die Ausstellung und Künstlergespräch mit Ute Hörner und Matthias Antlfinger
20.00 Uhr Performativer Vortrag des Projektes CORPORA DORMIUNT VIGILANT ANIMAE (work in pro-gress) von Martin Conrads und Erik Bünger

19. Oktober 2008 - Finissage der Ausstellung
18.30 Uhr: La Jetée von Chris Marker, Filmvorführung mit Lesung von philosophischen, literarischen und kunsthistorischen Textexzerpten zum Vergessen, ausgewählt und präsentiert von Oliver Baurhenn, u.a.

Unterstützt von