THE INTRICATE JOURNEY. Berlin–Kolumbien–Berlin

5 May–17 June 2007
Opening: 4 May 2007

Exhibition
Publication
Event Series

Location(s): NGBK, Oranienstraße 25

www.theintricatejourney.info (nicht mehr online)

Artists

Pablo Adarme, Erika Arzt / Juan Linares, François Bucher , buero für integrative kunst, Elkin Calderon, Carmen Carmona, Carolina Caycedo, Wilson Díaz, Adriana García, Stephan Kurr, Miler Lagos, Julián León, María Linares, Ana María Millán, Lucas Ospina

Project group

Erika Arzt, Stefan Krüskemper, Stephan Kurr, Juan Linares, María Linares

Which images, spaces and symbols do people return to in order to reinvent themselves in a new and unfamiliar context? How are notions of demarcation and difference reconstituted in a distant environment? And which models does identity derive from?

The experimental juxtaposition Berlin-Colombia contrasts actual and imaginary places. As a productive network of artists, ‘The Intricate Journey’ explores personal models of continuity and identity and their differences from the concept of a geographical or national origin. The main focus is on world spaces and life situations that are valid for individual people with their personal definitions and demarcations.

“The Intricate Journey” consists of three phases. In the first phase, 5 Colombian artists were invited to Berlin for a month. In the second phase, 5 Berlin artists travelled to Cali in Colombia and in the current, third phase the project reaches its conclusion with a visit to Berlin by other artists. The journeys and visits were aimed at developing artistic works of a kind that can only arise from the moment and the situation of being in strange surroundings. The artists’ works, their reactions and their perspectives can now be seen in the exhibition at the NGBK.

Through the artists’ mutual encounters and reflections, a kind of inner reference system grew up, crossing linguistic and cultural boundaries and informing the works shown in the exhibition. Thus, the artistic positions which arose through this process, as well as those still being created, present themselves as models of actively founded identity.

The programme accompanying the exhibition includes talks about the works, films and lectures.

A publication in German and Spanish with contributions by Franz Xaver Baier, Michael Asbury and Oscar Muñoz will be presented at the opening.

Events:

Friday, 4 May
19 h: Opening and presentation of the publication
20 h: Team Fiction – Theatre performance with the Life Game Company Berlin, based on an idea by Stefan Krüskemper
21 h: Megamix - Adriana García Galán mixes everything with everything: music, texts, fruit, alcohol, identities …

THE INTRICATE JOURNEY. Berlin–Kolumbien–Berlin

5. Mai–17. Juni 2007
Eröffnung: 4. Mai 2007

Ausstellung
Publikation
Veranstaltungsreihe

Ort(e): NGBK, Oranienstraße 25

www.theintricatejourney.info (nicht mehr online)

Künstler_innen

Pablo Adarme, Erika Arzt / Juan Linares, François Bucher , buero für integrative kunst, Elkin Calderon, Carmen Carmona, Carolina Caycedo, Wilson Díaz, Adriana García, Stephan Kurr, Miler Lagos, Julián León, María Linares, Ana María Millán, Lucas Ospina

Arbeitsgruppe

Erika Arzt, Stefan Krüskemper, Stephan Kurr, Juan Linares, María Linares

Auf welche Räume, Bilder und Symbole greifen Menschen zurück, um sich in einem fremden Kontext neu zu erfinden? Wie konstituieren sich Grenzen und Differenzen in der Ferne neu und auf welche Modelle lässt sich Identität zurückführen?

In der Versuchsanordnung Berlin-Kolumbien stehen sich konkreter und imaginierter Ort gegenüber. “The Intricate Journey”, ein produktives Künstlernetzwerk, untersucht persönliche Modelle von Kontinuität und Identität in Abgrenzung zu dem Konzept einer geografischen und nationalen Herkunft. Thematisiert werden individuell gültige Weltenräume und Lebenssituationen von Menschen mit ihren persönlichen Definitionen und Abgrenzungen.

“The Intricate Journey” besteht aus drei Phasen. In der ersten Phase wurden 5 kolumbianische Künstler für einen Monat nach Berlin eingeladen. In der zweiten Phase bereisten 5 Berliner Künstler Cali in Kolumbien und in der aktuellen, dritten Phase schließt ein Besuch weiterer Künstler das Projekt in Berlin ab. Ziel der Reisen und der Aufenthalte war, künstlerische Arbeiten zu entwickeln, die nur aus dem Moment und der Situation einer fremden Umgebung heraus entstehen können. Die Werke der Künstler, ihre Reaktionen und Perspektiven, sind nun in der Ausstellung in der NGBK zu sehen.

Durch die Begegnungen und Reflexion der Künstler untereinander wuchs über sprachliche und kulturelle Grenzen hinweg auch eine Art inneres Bezugssystem, das den Werken der Ausstellung eingeschrieben ist. So stellen sich die aus dem Prozess entstandenen, oder noch im Prozess befindlichen, künstlerischen Positionen als Modelle einer aktiv begründeten Identität dar.

Die Ausstellung begleitet ein Rahmenprogramm mit Werkgesprächen, Filmen und Vorträgen.

Zur Eröffnung erscheint eine Publikation in deutsch und spanisch mit Texten Von Franz Xaver Baier, Michael Asbury und Oscar Muñoz.

Termine:

Freitag, 4. Mai:
19 Uhr: Eröffnung und Präsentation der Publikation
20 Uhr: Team Fiction - Theaterperformance mit der Life Game Company Berlin nach einer Idee von Stefan Krüskemper
21 Uhr: Megamix - Adriana García Galán vermischt alles mit allem: Musik, Texte, Früchte, Alkohol, Identitäten…